USBWA releases watch list for Freshman of the Year award

The United States Basketball Writers association released its preseason watch list for the Wayman Tisdale Award – given annually to the best freshman in the country.

The award will be presented April 14, 2014 in Oklahoma.

Not surprisingly, Kentucky Wildcats dominates the list, with four Wildcats leading the way. Julius Randle , James Young and twins Andrew and Aaron Harrison are among the 10 names included on the list. Kansas Jayhawks has two players, with preseason All-America Andrew Wiggins and guard Wayne Selden.

Here’s the full list:

  • Tyler Ennis , Syracuse Orange
  • Aaron Gordon , Arizona Wildcats
  • Aaron Harrison, Kentucky
  • Andrew Harrison , Kentucky
  • Kasey Hill , Florida Gators
  • Jabari Parker , Duke Blue Devils
  • Julius Randle, Kentucky
  • Wayne Selden, Kansas
  • Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
  • James Young, Kentucky

Oklahoma State Cowboys ’s Marcus Smart won the award last season.

Here was the top 30 list that we released a couple of weeks ago. The lone player in our top 10 not included on the USBWA’s list was Kansas center Joel Embiid .

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories