Biletnikoff Award releases 2012 Preseason Watch List for receivers

USC wide receiver Robert Woods was a Biletnikoff Award finalist in 2011. (US Presswire)

Watch list has arrived in college football. The annual individual awards given at the end of the season will be rolling out their initial lists over the next couple weeks, and college football fans get their first round of debatable distinctions for 2012.

The Biletnikoff Award is given annually by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation to the nation's top receiver. The award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, All-America at Florida Gators State and All-Pro with the Oakland Raiders - where he was named MVP of Super Bowl XI.

Former Oklahoma Sooners State and current Jacksonville South Alabama Jaguars wide receiver Justin Blackmon won the award in both 2010 and 2011, joining Michael Crabtree as the only player to do so in the 16-year history of the award.

The foundation has named 48 wide receivers to the initial watch lists, headlined by USC wide receiver Robert Woods - the only returning finalist from 2011.

2012 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Dan Buckner , Arizona Wildcats
Cobi Hamilton , Arkansas Razorbacks
Emory Blake , Auburn Tigers
Tevin Reese , Baylor Bears
Terrance Williams , Baylor
Matt Miller , Boise State Broncos
Cody Hoffman , BYU
Keenan Allen , California Golden Bears
DeAndre Hopkins , Clemson Tigers
Conner Vernon , Duke Blue Devils
Andre Debose , Florida
Willie Haulstead , Florida State Seminoles
Tavarres King , Georgia Bulldogs
Keenan Davis , Iowa Hawkeyes
Quinton Patton , Louisiana Tech Bulldogs
Aaron Dobson , Marshall Thundering Herd
Allen Hurns , Miami (FL)
Nick Harwell , Miami (Ohio) RedHawks )" data-canon="Ohio Bobcats" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">
Roy Roundtree , Michigan Wolverines
TJ Moe, Missouri Tigers
Jheranie Boyd , North Carolina Tar Heels
Erik Highsmith , North Carolina
T.J. Jones , Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Corey (Philly) Brown , Ohio State Buckeyes
Kenny Stills , Oklahoma
Markus Wheaton , Oregon Ducks State
Mike Shanahan , Pittsburgh Panthers
Devin Street , Pittsburgh
Colin Lockett , San Diego State Aztecs
Noel Grigsby , San Jose State Spartans
Darius Johnson , SMU
Alec Lemon , Syracuse Orange
Josh Boyce , TCU Horned Frogs
Justin Hunter , Tennessee Volunteers
Da'Rick Rogers , Tennessee
Mike Davis , Texas Longhorns
Uzoma Nwachukwu , Texas A&M
Ryan Swope , Texas A&M
Eric Ward , Texas Tech Red Raiders
Robert Woods, USC
DeVonte Christopher , Utah Utes
Jordan Matthews , Vanderbilt Commodores
Marcus Davis , Virgina Tech
Michael Campanaro , Wake Forest Demon Deacons
Marquess Wilson , Washington Huskies State
Stedman Bailey , West Virgina
Tavon Austin , West Virginia Cavaliers
Jared Abbrederis , Wisconsin Badgers

2012 Biletnikoff Award Watch List by Conference
SEC - 10
Big 12 - 8
ACC - 8
Pac-12 - 6
Big Ten - 4
Big East - 3
Mountain West Conference - 2
Conference USA - 2
WAC - 2
Independents - 2
MAC - 1

Remember, names can be added and will be taken off these award lists as the season progresses. But still feel free to let us know your feelings on the list in the comment section below.

Keep up with the latest college football news from around the country. From the opening kick of the year all the way through the offseason, has you covered with thisdaily newsletter. View apreview.

Get College Football updates on Facebook

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories