Florida State, Boise State agree to home-and-home in 2019-20

Florida State and Boise State announced a home-and-home series to be played in the 2019 and 2020 seasons. The two schools have never met on the football field and are now scheduled to play Sept. 7, 2019, in Tallahassee and Sept. 12, 2020, in Boise.

"We are very excited to add Boise State to our future football schedule," Florida State athletic director Randy Spetman said in an official release. "Boise State has an excellent football program and we feel this will be an out-of-conference game that will be exciting for fans of both schools and appealing to TV networks.

"Adding the Broncos to our football schedule continues our commitment to bringing top-quality opponents to Doak Campbell Stadium. With our neutral site game versus Oklahoma State in 2014, the addition of Pitt and Syracuse to the ACC and now this series, we feel we are putting our football program in the best possible position to compete in the new BCS beginning in 2014."

The "new BCS" Spetman references is the four-team playoff to determine college football's national champion. The new system does not even have a name yet, but schools are doing everything they can to put themselves in position to capitalize on the future opportunities. In addition to doubling the field of national championship contenders, the new playoff will provide financial bonuses for making the playoff field.

We know that the selection committee will consider strength of schedule, along with conference champions, when selecting the four teams to participate in the playoff. Florida State's efforts to beef up the future nonconference schedules with opponents like Boise State are a response to the outline this new system.

Boise State nearly joined the Big East this offseason, instead electing to remain in the Mountain West with San Diego State. The Broncos have finished in the Top 20 of the final AP Poll in nine of the last 11 seasons and recorded seven bowl wins in that span.

The new 12-team Mountain West features Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming in the Mountain Division with Fresno State, Hawaii, Nevada, San Diego State, San Jose State and UNLV in the West Division. The division winners will play each other in the Mountain West Football Championship Game at the home of the higher-ranked team.

For more college football news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnCFB on Twitter, subscribe to our RSS Feedcollege football newsletter, and get the Eye On College Football Podcast from iTunes. You can follow Chip Patterson on Twitter here: @Chip_Patterson.

Get CBSSports.com College Football updates on Facebook

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories