Lombardi Award announces 100+ player watch list

Michigan tackle Taylor Lewan will challenge the best defensive linemen and linebackers for the Lombardi Award. (USATSI)
Michigan OT Taylor Lewan will challenge the best defensive linemen and linebackers for the Lombardi Award. (USATSI)

Watch-list season continues into the final week. The rest of college football's individual awards will be releasing watch lists this week, concluding with the Walter Camp Award watch list on Friday.

The Lombardi Award, named for legendary coach Vince Lombardi, was established in 1970 and given annually to the best lineman or linebacker in college football. Former Notre Dame Fighting Irish linebacker Manti Te'o claimed the award in 2012, winning a vote of approximately 500 head coaches, media, former winners and finalists of the Lombardi Award.

The 2013 watch list is hefty, totaling more than 100 offensive lineman, defensive lineman and linebackers in Division I football. The Rotary Club of Houston will announce a list of semifinalists on Nov. 7, trimming the list to a few finalists on Nov. 21. The 2013 Lombardi Award will be presented Dec. 11 in a ceremony at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas.

South Carolina Gamecocks defensive end Jadeveon Clowney , considered a contender for most awards which he is eligible, headlines the group, but the Lombardi Award's inclusiveness opens up the competition to include BYU linebacker Kyle Van Noy as well as Texas A&M offensive tackle Jake Matthews or Michigan Wolverines tackle Taylor Lewan .

Check out the full list below. Pretty hard to find snubs in a 100+ player list, but I'm sure someone will make a case in the comment section below.

C Josh Allen , Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks
LB Jeremiah Attaochu , Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
DT Calvin Barnett , Oklahoma State Cowboys
LB Anthony Barr , UCLA Bruins
LB Chris Borland , Wisconsin Badgers
DL Morgan Breslin , South Carolina Gamecocks " data-canon="Southern California Trojans" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">
LB Preston Brown , Louisville Cardinals
LB Vince Buhaglar, San Jose State Spartans
G Austen Bujnoch , Cincinnati Bearcats
LB Max Bullough , Michigan State Spartans
G Chris Burnette , Georgia Bulldogs
DT Ryan Carrethers, Arkansas State Red Wolves
G Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech Red Raiders
DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina Gamecocks
G La’El Collins, LSU Tigers
DE Scott Crichton , Oregon State
NG Tyeler Davison , Fresno State Bulldogs
DE Aaron Donald , Pittsburgh Panthers
LB Jake Doughty , Utah State
DT Dominique Easley , Florida Gators
DT IK Enemkpali , Louisiana Tech Bulldogs
LB Kyler Fackrell , Utah State Aggies
LB Jake Fely , San Diego State Aztecs
DE Devonte Fields , TCU Horned Frogs
C BJ Finney, Kansas State
G Dominic Flewellyn , Bowling Green Falcons
DE Ben Gardner , Stanford Cardinal
DE David Gilbert , Wisconsin Badgers
C Hroniss Grasu , Oregon Ducks
OL Ryan Groy , Wisconsin
DT Ra’Shede Hageman, Minnesota Golden Gophers
LB Bryce Hager , Baylor Bears
LB Ben Heeney , Kansas
DE Brock Hekking , Nevada Wolf Pack
LB Anthony Hitchens , Iowa Hawkeyes
LB Adrian Hubbard , Alabama Crimson Tide
DT Chucky Hunter , TCU
T James Hurst North Carolina Tar Heels
DE Kerry Hyder , Texas Tech
DE Martin Ifedi , Memphis Tigers
C Gabe Ikard , Oklahoma
LB Andrew Jackson , Western Kentucky
G Gabe Jackson , Mississippi State Bulldogs
G Tre’ Jackson, Florida State Seminoles
DE Jackson Jeffcoat , Texas
DT Timmy Jernigan , Florida State
LB AJ Johnson, Tennessee Volunteers
DT Anthony Johnson , LSU
T Kaleb Johnson , Rutgers Scarlet Knights
T Wesley Johnson , Vanderbilt Commodores
T Tyler Johnstone , Oregon
LB Christian Jones , Florida State
G Nicholas Kaspar , San Jose State
C Zac Kerin , Toledo Rockets
T Cyrus Kouandijio, Alabama
C Tyler Larsen , Utah State
DE Demarcus Lawrence , Boise State Broncos
T Eric Lefeld , Cincinnati
T Charles Leno , Boise State
T Taylor Lewan, Michigan
G Spencer Long , Nebraska Cornhuskers
G Antwan Lowery , Rutgers
DE Aaron Lynch , USF
LB Khalil Mack , Buffalo Bulls
LB Gabe Martin , Bowling Green
G Zack Martin , Notre Dame
T Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
T Morgan Moses , Virginia Cavaliers
LB CJ Mosley, Alabama
LB Trent Murphy , Stanford
LB Jonathan Newsome , Ball State Cardinals
DT Louis Nix III, Notre Dame
DE Roosevelt Nix , Kent State Golden Flashes
LB Denzel Nkemdiche , Ole Miss Rebels
G Andrew Norwell , Ohio State Buckeyes State" data-canon="Ohio Bobcats" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">
T Cedric Ogbuehi , Texas A&M
LB Zack Orr, North Texas Mean Green
DE Alex Page , South Alabama Jaguars
LB Hayes Pullard , USC
DT Travis Raciti , San Jose State
T Antonio Richardson , Tennessee
G Cyril Richardson , Baylor
C Weston Richburg , Colorado State
LB Jake Ryan , Michigan
G Eric Schultz , Utah State
DE Tyler Scott , Northwestern Wildcats
C Issac Seumalo, Oregon State Beavers
LB Ryan Shazier , Ohio State
LB Prince Shembo , Notre Dame
LB Shayne Skov , Stanford
T Jeremiah Sirles , Nebraska
LB Yawin Smallwood , Connecticut Huskies
DE Chris Smith , Arkansas
LB Keith Smith , San Jose State
G Anthony Steen , Alabama
G Xavier Su’a-Filo, UCLA
DT Will Sutton , Arizona Wildcats State
C Travis Swanson , Arkansas
T Brandon Thomas , Clemson Tigers
DE Stephon Tuitt , Notre Dame
LB Jack Tyler , Virginia Tech Hokies
G John Urschel , Penn State Nittany Lions
LB Kyle Van Noy, BYU
C Brandon Vitabile , Northwestern
G Mason Walters , Texas
T Austin Wentworth , Fresno State
T David Yankey , Stanford 

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Shop
College Football Playoff Gear
Our Latest Stories