Lou Groza Award watch list headlined by '12 winner Cairo Santos

Tulane kicker Cairo Santos headlines the watch list after winning the award for his perfect place-kicking performance in 2012. (USATSI)
Tulane's Cairo Santos won the award for his perfect place-kicking performance in 2012. (USATSI)

Watch list season is officially upon us. Most of college football's individual awards will be releasing preseason watch lists throughout the next week and a half, wrapping up July 19 with the Walter Camp Award watch list. Wednesday is kicker day in the watch list roll-out, as the best place-kickers and punters in the country get to shine on the initial lists for the Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award.

The Lou Groza Award, named for NFL Hall of Fame kicker Lou Groza, is presented annually to the nation's top place-kicker by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission. Groza set numerous franchise records during 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns, and this award has been given out every year since 1992.

The Palm Beach County Sports Commission will announce a list of 20 semifinalists in November. FBS head coaches and sports information directors, along with national and regional writers and past Groza winner will then vote to narrow that group to three finalists. The winner will be announced Dec. 10.

The 2013 watch list includes last year's winner, Tulane Green Wave kicker Cairo Santos . As a junior in 2012, Santos converted every field goal he attempted and beat out Florida State's Dustin Hopkins and Florida's Caleb Sturgis for the award. Santos is joined on this year's list by four other semifinalists from a year ago: San Jose State Spartans 's Austin Lopez , Rice Owls 's Chris Boswell , Duke Blue Devils 's Ross Martin and TCU Horned Frogs 's Jaden Oberkrom

Check out the full list below. Remember, names can be added or removed from this list during the first weeks of the season. There are no official "snubs" quite yet.

Chris Boswell, Rice
Kyle Brindza , Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Jeff Budzien , Northwestern Wildcats
Chandler Catanzaro , Clemson Tigers
Brian Davis , Arkansas State Red Wolves
Jeremiah Detmer , Toledo Rockets
Nick Diaz , Utah State Aggies
Mitch Ewald , Indiana Hoosiers
Nate Freese , Boston College Eagles
Andrew Furney , Washington State Cougars
Brendan Gibbons , Michigan Wolverines
Warren Harvey , East Carolina Pirates
Michael Hunnicutt , Oklahoma Sooners
Cody Journell , Virginia Tech Hokies
Ty Long , UAB Blazers
Austin Lopez, San Jose State
Ross Martin, Duke
Mike Meyer , Iowa Hawkeyes
Tony Miliano , Cincinnati Bearcats
Dylan Mulder , Eastern Michigan Eagles
Jaden Oberkrom, TCU
Cody Parkey , Auburn Tigers
Kaleb Patterson , Miami (Ohio) RedHawks
Jared Roberts , Colorado State Rams
Trevor Romaine , Oregon State Beavers
Cairo Santos, Tulane
Will Scott , Troy Trojans
Mathew Sims , Northern Illinois Huskies
Carey Spear , Vanderbilt Commodores
<player idref= ace, Louisville Cardinals

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Shop
College Football Playoff Gear
Our Latest Stories