Ray Guy Award watch list released: 25 punters for 2013

Florida punter Kyle Christy was a Ray Guy Award semifinalist in 2012. (USATSI)
Florida punter Kyle Christy was a Ray Guy Award semifinalist in 2012. (USATSI)

Watch list season is upon us. Most of college football's individual awards will be releasing preseason watch lists throughout the next week and a half, wrapping up July 19 with the Walter Camp Award watch list. Wednesday is kicker day in the watch list roll out, as the best place-kickers and punters in the country get to shine on the initial lists for the Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award.

The Ray Guy Award, named for Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy, is presented to the college punter of the year by the Augusta Sports Council. Among the statistics used to define punting excellence is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average return yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. 

The list below has 25 punters, but the number of eligible candidates will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. A complete list of candidates for the 2013 Ray Guy Award will be released on Oct. 25. Ten semifinalists will be announced Nov. 8 after a meeting of the Ray Guy Award committee, then a national body of coaches, media, SIDs and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote on the top three finalists. The finalists will be announced on Nov. 25 and the winner will be named at the Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 12.

The 2013 watch list includes four punters who finished as Lou Groza Award semifinalists last season: Florida Gators 's Kyle Christy , Auburn Tigers 's Steven Clark , Marshall Thundering Herd 's <player idref= iams and Iowa State's Kirby Van Der Kamp

Check out the full list below. Remember, names can be added or removed from this list during the first weeks of the season. There are no official "snubs" quite yet.

Michael Bowlin , Washington State Cougars
Cayle Chapman-Brown , New Mexico State Aggies
Kyle Christy, Florida
Steven Clark, Auburn
Justin Duvernois, Illinois Fighting Illini
Landon Foster , Kentucky Wildcats
Thomas Hibbard, North Carolina Tar Heels
Tom Hornsey , Memphis Tigers
Colter Johnson , Massachusetts Minutemen
Keith Kostol , Oregon State Beavers
Richie Leone , Houston Cougars
Mike Loftus , Southern Methodist Mustangs
Anthony Melchiori , Kent State Golden Flashes
Will Monday , Duke Blue Devils
Hunter Mullins , UAB Blazers
Pat O’Donnell, Miami (Fla.) Hurricanes
Darragh O’Neill, Colorado Buffaloes
Ethan Perry , TCU Horned Frogs
Mike Sadler , Michigan State Spartans
Ben Skaer , New Mexico Lobos
Trent Tignor , East Carolina Pirates
Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State Cyclones
Harrison Waid , San Jose State Spartans
Cody Webster , Purdue Boilermakers
Tyler Williams, Marshall

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Shop
College Football Playoff Gear
Our Latest Stories