Rimington Trophy watch list highlights 44 centers for 2013

Arkansas center Travis Swanson headlines a list of 44 centers to watch in 2013. (USATSI)
Arkansas center Travis Swanson headlines a list of 44 centers to watch in 2013. (USATSI)

Watch list season is officially upon us. Most of college football's individual awards will be releasing preseason watch lists throughout the next two weeks, wrapping up July 19 with the Walter Camp Award watch list.

The Rimington Trophy, named for All-American Nebraska Cornhuskers center Dave Rimington, is given to the "most outstanding center in NCAA Division I-A" (FBS) each year by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.

The selection of the Rimington Trophy is unique in that the committee uses four All-America football teams to determine the winner at the end of the season. The AFCA, Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News, and FWAA All-American teams are compiled, and the center with the most first team votes is named the Rimington Trophy winner. Last season, Alabama Crimson Tide center Barrett Jones became the first player in Crimson Tide history to win the Rimington Trophy -- just one year after winning the Outland Trophy as a left tackle in 2011.

The SEC leads the way with nine players listed on the 2013 watch list, with the Pac-12 and Mountain West following next with five players each. Arkansas Razorbacks ' Travis Swanson and Oklahoma Sooners center Gabe Ikard highlight this year's list, though there is no clear-cut frontrunner among the group.

Check out the full list below. Remember, names can be added or removed from this list during the first weeks of the season. So there are no official "snubs" quite yet. 

David Andrews , Georgia Bulldogs
Russell Bodine , North Carolina Tar Heels
Evan Boehm , Missouri Tigers
Jake Brendel , UCLA Bruins
Betim Bujari , Rutgers Scarlet Knights
Ben Clarke , Hawaii Rainbow Warriors
Sean Conway , Western Kentucky Hilltoppers
Dillon Day , Mississippi State Bulldogs
Reese Dismukes , Auburn Tigers
Dominic Espinosa , Texas Longhorns
Dillon Farrell , New Mexico Lobos
Jay Finch , Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
B.J. Finney , Kansas State Wildcats
Matt Galas , Nevada Wolf Pack
Bryce Giddens , Arkansas State Red Wolves
Hroniss Grasu , Oregon Ducks
Gus Handler , Colorado Buffaloes
Jonotthan Harrison , Florida Gators
Andre Huval , UL Lafayette Ragin Cajuns
Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma
Travis Jackson , Michigan State Spartans
David Kekuewa , Bowling Green Falcons
Ryan Kelly , Alabama
Zac Kerin , Toledo Rockets
Kody Koebensky , Arizona State Sun Devils
Tyler Larsen , Utah State Aggies
Taylor Lasecki , Southern Methodist Mustangs
Corey Linsley , Ohio State Buckeyes
Macky MacPherson , Syracuse Orange
Mike Marboe , Idaho Vandals
Shane McDermott , Miami (Fla.) Hurricanes
Cole Pensick , Nebraska
Ryan Powis , Army West Point Black Knights
Bryce Redman , Houston Cougars
Austin Reiter , South Florida Bulls
Weston Richburg , Colorado State Rams
Isaac Seumalo , Oregon State Beavers
James Stone , Tennessee Volunteers
Bryan Stork , Florida State Seminoles
Travis Swanson, Arkansas
Evan Swindall , Ole Miss Rebels
Valerian Ume-Ezeoke , New Mexico State Aggies
Brandon Vitabile , Northwestern Wildcats
Robert Waterman , UNLV Rebels

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Shop
College Football Playoff Gear
Our Latest Stories