Walter Camp Award releases list of 15 semifinalists

    Johnny Manziel is one of 15 semi-finalists for the Walter Camp Award    
Johnny Manziel is one of 15 semifinalists for the Walter Camp Award. (USATSI)

I get kind of sad when college football awards start cutting down their watch lists because it means we're approaching the end of the season, and I never like it when college football seasons end. Alas, there's not much I can do about it, and on Wednesday the Walter Camp Award released its list of 15 semifinalists for the award.

The Walter Camp Award is given to the best college football player in the country as voted on by the head coaches and sports information directors of the FBS. Last year the award was given to Notre Dame's Manti Te'o.

This year's winner will come from this list of 15 players.

Anthony Barr , LB, UCLA Bruins

Tajh Boyd , QB, Clemson Tigers

Teddy Bridgewater , QB, Louisville Cardinals

Ka'Deem Carey , RB, Arizona Wildcats

Derek Carr , QB, Fresno State Bulldogs

Mike Evans , WR, Texas A&M

Jordan Lynch , QB, Northern Illinois Huskies

Johnny Manziel , QB, Texas A&M

Marcus Mariota , QB, Oregon Ducks

AJ McCarron , QB, Alabama Crimson Tide

Braxton Miller , QB, Ohio State Buckeyes

C.J. Mosley , LB, Alabama

Bryce Petty , QB, Baylor Bears

Michael Sam , DE, Missouri Tigers

Jameis Winston , QB, Florida State Seminoles

As you can see, 10 of the 15 semifinalists are quarterbacks, and the SEC leads all conferences with five players listed.

CBS Sports Writer

Tom Fornelli has been a college football writer at CBS Sports since 2010. During his time at CBS, Tom has proven time and again that he hates your favorite team and thinks your rival is a paragon of football... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories