Walter Camp watch list: Can Clowney become fourth defensive winner?

Jadeveon Clowney could be only the fourth defensive player to win the Walter Camp Award. (USATSI)
Jadeveon Clowney could be only the fourth defensive player to win the Walter Camp Award. (USATSI)

Watch list season wraps up with the Walter Camp Award preseason watch list. The award, given annually to the nation's most outstanding football player by the Walter Camp Foundation, is voted on by the nation's FBS coaches and sports information directors. The foundation also names an annual All-American team and gives out other awards to coaches and members of the football community.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o was the 46th player to win the Walter Camp Award in 2012, becoming just the third defensive player to earn the honor. The 50-player preseason watch list for 2013 includes 12 defensive players, headlined by South Carolina Gamecocks 's All-American defensive end Jadeveon Clowney . His primary competition includes two finalists from 2012: USC wide receiver Marqise Lee and Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel

The semifinalists for the 2013 Walter Camp Award will be announced on Nov. 13, followed by the announcement of the Finalists on Dec. 4 and the winner on Dec. 12, live on ESPN. 

Click here for an index of all the watch lists released over the last two weeks.

RB Ameer Abdullah , Nebraska
RB Antonio Andrews , W. Kentucky
RB Dri Archer , Kent State
QB Tajh Boyd , Clemson
QB Teddy Bridgewater , Louisville
QB Kolton Browning , ULM
LB Anthony Barr , UCLA
RB Ka'Deem Carey , Arizona
QB Derek Carr , Fresno State
QB Rakeem Cato , Marshall
DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
WR Amari Cooper , Alabama
RB David Fluellen , Toledo
DB Phillip Gaines , Rice
RB Todd Gurley , Georgia
RB John Hubert , Kansas State
DE Jackson Jeffcoat , Texas
RB Duke Johnson , Miami
QB Chuckie Keeton , Utah State
WR Marqise Lee, USC
OT Taylor Lewan , Michigan
QB Jordan Lynch , Northern Illinois
QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
QB Marcus Mariota , Oregon
OT Jake Matthews , Texas A&M
WR Jordan Matthews , Vanderbilt
RB Venric Mark , Northwestern
QB Taylor Martinez , Nebraska
QB AJ McCarron , Alabama
QB Braxton Miller , Ohio State
LB C.J. Mosley , Alabama
QB Aaron Murray , Georgia
DE Louis Nix III, Notre Dame
QB Casey Pachall , TCU
QB Keith Price , Washington
RB Silas Redd , USC
DB Bradley Roby , Ohio State
QB Tyler Russell , Mississippi State
RB Bishop Sankey , Washington
RB Lache Seastrunk , Baylor
LB Yawin Smallwood , Connecticut
DT Will Sutton , Arizona State
QB Tyler Tettleton , Ohio
RB De'Anthony Thomas , Oregon
QB Logan Thomas , Virginia Tech
DE Stephon Tuitt , Notre Dame
LB Kyle Van Noy , BYU
DB Jason Verrett , TCU
WR Sammy Watkins , Clemson
RB T.J. Yeldon , Alabama

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Shop
College Football Playoff Gear
Our Latest Stories