Associated Press announces preseason All-America team

Associated Press announces preseason All-America team

By Jeff Borzello | College Basketball Writer

More College Basketball: Season preview | Top 25 (And One) | Conference predictions

The Associated Press announced its All-America team on Monday, with Oklahoma State guard Marcus Smart the lone unanimous selection.

Smart was joined by Creighton's Doug McDermott, Louisville's Russ Smith, Kansas' Andrew Wiggins and Michigan's Mitch McGary.

Smart was included on every ballot, while McDermott was on all but two. Smart was the Big 12 Player of the Year a season ago, but decided to return to Stillwater for his sophomore season instead of entering the NBA draft.

Wiggins is only the second freshman to be named to the AP's preseason All-America team, with former North Carolina forward Harrison Barnes being selected in 2010.

The AP All-America team shared four players with the All-America selections, with us choosing Kentucky freshman Julius Randle instead of McGary.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video


Most Popular