USBWA releases watch list for Freshman of the Year award

By Jeff Borzello | College Basketball Writer

The United States Basketball Writers association released its preseason watch list for the Wayman Tisdale Award – given annually to the best freshman in the country.

The award will be presented April 14, 2014 in Oklahoma.

Not surprisingly, Kentucky dominates the list, with four Wildcats leading the way. Julius Randle, James Young and twins Andrew and Aaron Harrison are among the 10 names included on the list. Kansas has two players, with preseason All-America Andrew Wiggins and guard Wayne Selden.

Here's the full list:

Oklahoma State's Marcus Smart won the award last season.

Here was the top 30 list that we released a couple of weeks ago. The lone player in our top 10 not included on the USBWA's list was Kansas center Joel Embiid.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video

August 28, 2015
Inside College Hoops (1:12)
August 26, 2015
Candid Coaches Series
August 24, 2015
Candid Coaches: Best Defensive Coach
August 21, 2015
John Groce's struggles


Most Popular Shop

Men's Nike Scarlet Ohio State Buckeyes No. 15 Limited Football Jersey

College Sideline Gear
Get your favorite school
Shop Now

2015 NCAA Tournament
Final Four