Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Award preseason watch list released

Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Award preseason watch list released

By Matt Norlander | Staff Writer

The United States Basketball Writers Associated released on Tuesday the 15 players it deems most worthy of being watched in the 2013-14 season.

The Oscar Robertson Award is the USBWA's version of college basketball's MVP award. It's handed out the week after the end of the season every year. Here are the 15 names us writers believe have the best chance to be the best player in the sport by season's end.

Pos.Player, SchoolHt.Wt.Yr.Hometown
GJahii Carson, Arizona State5-10180So.Mesa, Ariz.
GAaron Craft, Ohio State6-2195Sr.Findlay, Ohio
FC.J. Fair, Syracuse6-8215Sr.Baltimore, Md.
FAaron Gordon, Arizona6-9225Fr.San Jose, Calif.
GGary Harris, Michigan State6-4210So.Fishers, Ind.
GJoe Harris, Virginia6-6225Sr.Chelan, Wash.
FDoug McDermott, Creighton6-8225Sr.Ames, Iowa
FMitch McGary, Michigan6-10255So.Chesterton, Ind.
GShabazz Napier, Connecticut6-1180Sr.Roxbury, Mass.
FJabari Parker, Duke6-8235Fr.Chicago, Ill.
CAdreian Payne, Michigan State6-10245Sr.Dayton, Ohio
FJulius Randle, Kentucky6-9250Fr.Dallas, Texas
GMarcus Smart, Oklahoma State6-4220So.Flower Mound, Texas
GRuss Smith, Louisville6-0165Sr.Brooklyn, N.Y.
GAndrew Wiggins, Kansas6-8200Fr.Vaughan, Ont.
By conference: Big Ten (4), ACC (3), American Athletic (2), Big 12 (2), Pac-12 (2), Big East (1), SEC (1).
By class: Seniors (7), Juniors (0), Sophomores (4), Freshmen (4).

Interesting to note that there are seven seniors on the list. Perhaps that's a good sign! If you want a true breakdown by position, I filter as such:

PG: 4
SG: 2
SF: 5
PF: 4
C: 0

Here are the most recent winners of the award:

2013: Trey Burke
2012: Anthony Davis
2011: Jimmer Fredette
2010: Evan Turner
2009: Blake Griffin

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video


Most Popular