NCAA whittles 2017-2020 Final Four candidates to eight cities

By Matt Norlander | Staff Writer

The NCAA announced on Monday that eight finalists for men's Final Four hosting duties from 2017-20 have been selected.

The candidates are: Atlanta, Indianapolis, Minneapolis, New Orleans, North Texas, Phoenix/Glendale, San Antonio and St. Louis. The NCAA notes, "Those cities/regions have combined to host 24 previous men's Final Fours, and are scheduled to host the next two as well." North Texas (Dallas region) hosts this season, and Indianapolis gets 2015 duty.

The women's Final Fours in that span up for consideration: Columbus, Dallas, Houston, Nashville, New Orleans, Pittsburgh and Tampa Bay.

Announcements from the NCAA on which cities will host which Final Fours will come in November.

Of all the cities involved, New Orleans, Indianapolis and San Antonio have the best reputations in terms of transportation, setup, culture and infrastructure for the Final Four. It should be noted that Atlanta is building a new stadium, set to open in 2017, and so perhaps that city will have the wow factor that could induce the NCAA haves to select the ATL for more Final Four duty. You'll recall Atlanta hosted last year's festivities.

St. Louis has not hosted since 2005; San Antonio not since 2008. Minneapolis' last go-round was in 2001.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video

October 2, 2015
SMU's and UNC's NCAA issues (1:16)
October 2, 2015
Shocking allegations made against Louisville
October 1, 2015
Maryland turning it around
October 1, 2015
College Hoops Mailbag: Will Chris Mullin turn around St. John's?


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike Scarlet Ohio State Buckeyes No. 15 Limited Football Jersey

College Sideline Gear
Get your favorite school
Shop Now

2015 NCAA Tournament
Final Four