SWAC allows four ineligible teams in conference tournament

SWAC allows four ineligible teams in conference tournament

By Jeff Borzello | College Basketball Writer

Last season, only seven teams played in the SWAC tournament as three teams were ineligible for the NCAA tournament due to APR penalties.

This year, the league has decided to let every team play in the postseason tournament -- including four teams that are banned from the NCAA tournament for 2013-14.

According to USA Today, the 10 school presidents voted to include the ineligible teams: Southern, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Mississippi Valley State and Grambling.

Southern will be the top seed in the conference tournament, but they cannot play in the NCAA tournament. As a result, the NCAA released a statement regarding what would happen in the event one of the four ineligible teams wins the conference tournament.

"The conference tournaments will still determine the automatic berths into both NCAA championships. The eligible team that advances furthest in the conference tournaments will receive the automatic berth to the NCAA championships. In the event of a tie (for example, all tournament-eligible teams are eliminated in the same round), the automatic berth will go to the highest-seeded team."

The SWAC tournament will take place March 11-15 in Houston. Alabama State, in second place, would be the highest-seeded team eligible for the NCAA tournament if the season ended today.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video

September 30, 2016
September 29, 2016
The Curious Case of Cullen Neal
September 27, 2016
CBS Sports Preseason Top 25 (and one)
September 22, 2016
College Basketball: Teams to struggle in 2016?


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Brand Jordan Navy Michigan Wolverines 2016 Elite Coaches Sideline Performance Polo

College Sideline Gear
Get yours today!
Shop Now