Gregg Marshall wins Henry Iba Coach of the Year award

Gregg Marshall wins Henry Iba Coach of the Year award

By Matt Norlander | Staff Writer

Marshall got Wichita State to 35-0 and No. 1 seed before falling to Kentucky. (USATSI)

More NCAA hoops: Tournament bracket | Complete coverage of NCAAs | Latest news

College basketball has a number of regular-season awards that are handed out throughout March and into early April.

There are five coach-of-the-year awards alone. On Monday, Wichita State's Gregg Marshall won Coach of the Year on behalf of the U.S. Basketball Writeres Association. It's the Henry Iba Coach of the Year award. It's Marshall's first time winning it.

He'll formally be handed the hardware on April 14 at a ceremony in Oklahoma City.

As many college basketball fans are aware, Marshall's Wichita State team went undefeated in the regular season, then got to 34-0 after winning the Missouri Valley conference tournament. Earning the first No. 1 seed in program history, the Shockers lost in the Round of 32 on Sunday to No. 8 Kentucky.

Marshall's career winning percentage at Wichita State stands at .710, a 174-71 record with the Shockers. He took Wichita State to the 2013 Final Four and has made three consecutive NCAA Tournaments.

Marshall took Winthrop to seven NCAA Tournaments prior to getting Wichita State to the past three.

Marshall beat out nine other finalists for the award: John Beilein, Michigan; Tony Bennett, Virginia; Larry Brown, SMU; Jim Crews, Saint Louis; Mick Cronin, Cincinnati; Billy Donovan, Florida; Steve Fisher, San Diego State; Greg McDermott, Creighton; and Jay Wright, Villanova.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video


Most Popular