• My Scores
  • MLB
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf

NCAA 2015

March Madness

Get the latest March Madness news >>

Bracket Busted? Start New!
Tournament Games Live
Results & Schedule
Play Round by Round Watch Now View the live bracket

AP announces All-Americans; Doug McDermott a three-time AA

By Matt Norlander | College Basketball Writer

Doug McDermott's the first three-time first-teamer since Patrick Ewing, Wayman Tisdale in '85. (USATSI)
Doug McDermott's the first three-time first-teamer since Patrick Ewing, Wayman Tisdale in '85. (USATSI)

More hoops news: Wooden All-America team | More hoops news, notes

The Associated Press announced its five-man All-American team on Monday.

It's led by Creighton senior Doug McDermott, who was a unanimous choice and ther first player since Patrick Ewing and Wayman Tisdale in 1985 to make three straight AP All-American First Teams. McDermott led the country in scoring in the regular season this year (26.9).

"Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine being with names of that caliber," McDermott told the AP. "Truly an honor to be an All-American three straight years. It's hard to wrap my mind around being in the company of those guys."

The AP's First Team is dominated by elder statesmen: four of the five are seniors. Joining McDermott are Shabazz Napier (Connecticut), Sean Kilpatrick (Cincinnati) and Russ Smith (Louisville). The fifth member was a standout freshman, Jabari Parker (Duke).

Napier, Kilpatrick and Smith played in the same conference, the American Athletic Conference, marking the first time since the ACC in 2001-02 that one league had three players on the AP's First Team.

Voting was finalized on Selection Sunday. Napier is the only player whose season is still going. No. 7 Connecticut plays No. 1 overall seed Florida Saturday night in the Final Four. Here's where the stat lines stand/finished for the five.

McDermott: 26.7 PPG, 7.0 RPG, 1.6 APG
Napier: 18.1 PPG, 5.9 RPG, 4.9 APG
Kilpatrick: 20.6 PPG, 4.3 RPG, 2.5 APG
Smith: 18.2 PPG, 3.3 RPG, 4.6 APG
Parker: 19.1 PPG, 8.7 RPG, 1.2 APG

The second team consisted of: Nick Johnson (Arizona), Andrew Wiggins (Kansas), Nik Stauskas (Michigan), Melvin Ejim (Iowa State) and T.J. Warren (North Carolina State).

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video

March 29, 2015
March Madness Confidential: Kyle Wiltjer's vast improvement (4:39)
March 29, 2015
Kentucky's Calipari, Harrison, and Cauley-Stein on making the Final Four
March 29, 2015
March Madness Confidential: Spartans road to the Elite Eight
March 29, 2015
Hank Gathers's son finds new meaning as a mentor


Most Popular

2015 NCAA Tournament
Final Four