Alonzo Mourning, Nolan Richardson, Gary Williams headline HOF class

By Chip Patterson | College Football/Basketball Writer

Nolan Richardson won more than 500 games in 22 seasons. (USATSI)

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame unites the legends from the sport at all levels, making it one of the prestigious honors in sports. On Monday, the inductees for the 2014 class were announced.

Alonzo Mourning and Mitch Richmond headline the group of players selected in this year's class, each following their successful college careers with multiple NBA All-Star selections and a world title for Zo in 2006.

Former Arkansas coach Nolan Richardson and former Maryland coach Gary Williams give the college game two well-respected names into the hall, along with the 1972-74 Immaculata University women's teams; winners of the first three Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) national championships.

Bob "Slick" Leonard (American Basketball Association), Nat "Sweetwater" Clifton (Early African Pioneers), Sanunas Marciulionis (International), Guy Rodgers (Veterans) and former NBA commissioner David Stern (Contributor) were the direct election inductees from each committee.

Check out the full list of 2014 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame inductees below:

Nat "Sweetwater" Clifton: 1957 NBA All-Star and multi-sport athlete who became the second African-American player to sign a NBA contract when he joined the New York Knicks in 1950.

Bob "Slick" Leonard: National championship winning guard from Indiana (1953) who went on to win three ABA titles as a coach in the 1970's with the Indiana Pacers.

Sarunas Marciulionis: One of the first Europeans to break through in the NBA, Marciulionis also led the USSR basketball team to a gold medal in 1988 and then helped bring back the Lithuanian national team -- leading the squad to bronze medals in the 1992 and 1996 Olympics.

Alonzo Mourning: Consensus first team All-American at Georgetown, seven-time NBA All-Star, All-NBA first team in 1999 and world champion for the Miami Heat in 2006.

Nolan Richardson: NCAA Tournament champion (1994) at Arkansas, NABC and Naismith Coach of the Year, 2008 inductee to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Mitch Richmond: Six time NBA All-Star and NBA champion in 2002 with the Los Angeles Lakers. Richmond's jersey has been retired by Kansas State and the Sacramento Kings, and he penned a response to his induction here that is worth a quick read.

Guy Rodgers: Rodgers was a first team All-American at Temple (1958) before teaming up with Wilt Chamberlain on the Warriors. Between 1963-67, Rodgers was selected to the All-Star team four times and led the NBA in assists twice.

David Stern: Longtime NBA employee and former NBA commissioner.

Gary Williams: Williams returned to Maryland, where he played from 1964-67, in 1989 to take over as the program's head coach. He led the Terps to a national title in 2002 and captured three ACC regular season titles before stepping over to the administration side of things in 2011.

Immaculata College 1972-74: Head coach Cathy Rush led the Mighty Mac to three AIAW championships and helped pioneer the game of women's basketball. Rush was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008 and now the entire program gets to share in that honor.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video

July 31, 2015
Big 12 Summer School (1:34)
July 30, 2015
Gary Parrish on the Ball brothers from California
July 29, 2015
Big East Hoops Summer School
July 28, 2015
Prospect Profile: Harry Giles


Most Popular Shop

Men's Nike Charcoal Denver Broncos Training Camp Performance T-Shirt

NFL Training Camp Gear
Get your favorite team
Shop Now

2015 NCAA Tournament
Final Four