• My Scores
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf
  • Tennis

Super Bowl 50

Sun, Feb 7, 2016

Get the latest Super Bowl news >>

Super Bowl Commercials
Broncos Win Super Bowl 50
Home of Super Bowl 50
Watch Now 16 Things to Know Full Coverage

Kansas' Self wins Naismith coach of year award


Kansas coach Bill Self, whose club takes on Kentucky for the national championship Monday night in New Orleans, was named the Naismith Men's College Basketball Coach of the Year on Sunday.

Self becomes the third Kansas coach to win the award from the Atlanta Tipoff Club, joining Larry Brown (1988) and Roy Williams (1997). Self edged finalists Jim Boeheim (Syracuse), John Calipari (Kentucky) and Frank Haith (Missouri).

Self was selected by the Tipoff Club's National Voting Academy, comprised of nationwide panel of journalists, coaches and administrators.

Self, in his ninth season, led the Jayhawks to a 31-7 record, a record eighth straight Big 12 regular-season title and a second straight conference coach of the year award. He is 269-52 at KU and 476-157 overall, including a national championship with the Jayhawks in 2008.

"This is a terrific honor. When you think of postseason awards, anything that has (James) Nasmith’s name in front of it is a huge award and certainly I'm very proud of this," Self said. "It is a reflection of how our team performed all year long. There are so many good coaches out there to choose from but I am honored they picked me."

Entering the NCAA tournament as a No. 2 seed in the Midwest region, the Jayhawks defeated No. 1 seed North Carolina and No. 2 seed Ohio State to reach their second NCAA Championship game in four years.


Biggest Stories

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike Blue Kentucky Wildcats Basketball Therma-FIT Performance Practice Hoodie

2016 College Basketball Gear
Get your favorite school
Shop Now