Dream Teams


 ( Original)  

We did it last year in the middle of the season, but we're going to take a crack this time prior to the start of the 2012-13 college hoops campaign.'s stable of college basketball writers -- Gary Parrish, Jeff Goodman, Matt Norlander and Jeff Borzello -- have again decided to put together their own college basketball dream team. In short, each writer has drafted a team of 13 players currently playing college basketball, a coaching staff and recruits to target in the Class of 2013.

As we did a year ago, there will be stipulations:

Team-by-Team Analysis

-- Team cannot have more than one player from a single school (i.e. must choose either Aaron Craft or Deshaun Thomas, not both).

-- At least four players on the team must hail from a non-BCS affiliated league.

-- Bench players must be projected as non-starters this season.

-- One player will be chosen to redshirt, since few programs use all of their 13 scholarships (unless your name is Rick Pitino -- and then you oversign each year).

Here’s how our captains picked their teams. Which do you think is strongest? Let us know on Twitter: @EyeonCBB.

Gary Parrish

Jeff Goodman

Matt Norlander

Jeff Borzello
Starting lineup
G Isaiah Canaan Phil Pressey Isaiah Canaan Isaiah Canaan
G Michael Snaer Michael Snaer Aaron Craft Michael Snaer
F Shabazz Muhammad Alex Poythress Nerlens Noel DeShaun Thomas
F Doug McDermott Doug McDermott Doug McDermott C.J. Leslie
C Cody Zeller Cody Zeller Cody Zeller Cody Zeller
Top three reserves
Phil Pressey Gorgui Dieng Phil Pressey Phil Pressey
Trey Burke Rotnei Clarke Jamaal Franklin BJ Young
James Michael-McAdoo Aaron Craft Gorgui Dieng Gorgui Dieng
Two non-power league reserves
Tony Mitchell Adonis Thomas Mike Moser Matthew Dellavedova
Mike Moser Jamaal Franklin Nate Wolters Anthony Bennett
Two true "bench" players
Russ Smith Katlin Reinhardt Reggie Bullock J.J. Moore
Geron Johnson Grant Jerrett Grant Jerrett Ronald Roberts
Nerlens Noel Josh Smith Shabazz Muhammad Ricardo Ledo
Head coach
Mike Krzyzewski Bill Self John Calipari John Calipari
Assistant Coaches
Kenny Payne Mike Hopkins Chris Harriman Mike Hopkins
Patrick Sellers Russell Springmann Russell Springmann Russell Springmann
Bobby Lutz Raphael Chillious Yanni Hufnagel Chris Jent
Recruits to target
Andrew Wiggins Andrew Wiggins Andrew Wiggins Andrew Wiggins
Jabari Parker Jabari Parker Jabari Parker Aaron Gordon
Julis Randle Julius Randle James Young Kasey Hill
Austin Nichols Aaron Gordon Aaron Gordon Keith Frazier


Biggest Stories

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike White Villanova Wildcats 2016 NCAA Men's Basketball National Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

Villanova Wildcats 2016 National Champs
Get the Locker Room Gear!
Shop Now