Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now

Big East announces divisions for football, title game

The Sports Xchange

Preparing to expand with two schools in the western time zones, the Big East Conference announced Tuesday it would split into two divisions for the next two football season and play a conference championship game.

The East Division will include Central Florida, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Rutgers and South Florida. The West Division will consist of Temple and five newcomers -- Boise State, Houston, Memphis, San Diego State and SMU.

"This new alignment gives the conference and its fans the best of both worlds -- national exposure that is a result of the Big East being in six of the top 10 U.S. media markets -- with a schedule that focuses on spirited regional rivalries," Big East Commissioner Mike Aresco said in a statement.

The schedule will include each team playing an eight-game conference schedule against the five teams within its division and three teams from the opposite division.

The two division champions will meet in the Big East Championship Game, likely at the home of the team with the best record.

League officials said all of these plans will be revisited when Navy joins in 2015.

Copyright (C) 2012 The Sports Xchange. All Rights Reserved.


Biggest Stories



Most Popular Shop

Notre Dame Fighting Irish Under Armour No.5 Shamrock Series Tackle Twill Football Jersey

2014 College Football Jerseys
Get your school today
Shop Now