College Football Insider

NCAA reviewing bowl waiver rule for 6-7 teams

PASADENA, Calif. -- Remember when UCLA and Georgia Tech needed an NCAA waiver to go bowling at 6-7? They won't need that anymore if NCAA board of directors approves proposed legislature May 2.

The NCAA is proposing that six-win teams entering a conference championship games can qualify for a bowl game without a waiver, according to two sources with direct knowledge of the situation.

UCLA and Georgia Tech filed a waiver in back-to-back years for the right to go 6-8. The NCAA approved those waivers, but under the new system, they won't need one.

In August, the NCAA established a criteria for qualification in case there aren't enough bowl qualifiers, including teams that "finished with a 6-7 record, with the seventh loss being in a conference championship game."

Clearly UCLA and Tech felt they couldn't be punished for making a conference title game, but the NCAA ignoring its own policy in years with more than 70 bowl-eligible teams set off strong reaction from officials from smaller conferences.

“The policy is clear and understandable,” MAC commissioner Jon Steinbrecher said in a statement about the Georgia Tech ruling. “What is lacking is the willingness to enforce NCAA policy and that is regrettable.”

One commissioner at the BCS meetings told there's a mild push – and not just by the smaller conferences -- for a winning record required to make a bowl game.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video


Most Popular Shop

Mens Kansas City Royals vs. San Francisco Giants Majestic Black 2014 MLB World Series Dueling Sweep Victory Roster T-Shirt

Kansas City Royals vs. San Francisco Giants
Get the Gear
Shop Now