Jimmy Johnson, Phillip Fulmer lead 2012 College Football Hall of Fame class

By Chip Patterson | College Writer

On Tuesday, the National Football Foundation announced the newest inductees to the College Football Hall of Fame. In order for a player to be inducted, he must have received First Team All-America recognition by an NCAA-recognized selector, while a coach becomes eligible three years after retirement or immediately following retirement, if he is at least 70 years old. For an active coach to become eligible, he must be at least 75 years of age. All coaches must have coached for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.

The 2012 class was announced in a presentation in New York City, which was broadcast live through the National Football Foundation's YouTube channel.

News about BYU quarterback Ty Detmer, former Miami Hurricanes head coach Jimmy Johnson, and longtime Tennessee head coach Philip Fulmer leaked out in the days leading up to the presentation. Here is the full list of new inductees to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Charles Alexander, LSU TB (1975-78)
Otis Armstrong, Purdue TB (1969-72)
Steve Bartowski, Cal QB (1972-74)
Hal Bedsole, USC WR (1961-63)
Dave Casper, ND TE (1971-73)
Ty Detmer, BYU QB (1988-91)
Tommy Kramer, Rice QB (1973-76)
Art Monk, Syracuse WR (1976-79)
Greg Myers, Colorado State (1992-95)
Jonathan Ogden, UCLA OT (1992-95)
Gabe Rivera, Texas Tech DT (1979-82)
Mark Simoneau, Kansas State LB (1996-99)
Scott Thomas, Air Force S (1982-85)
John Wooten, Colorado OG (1956-58)

Phillip Fulmer, Tennessee (1992-08)
Jimmy Johnson, Oklahoma State & Miami (1979-83)
R.C. Slocum, Texas A&M (1989-02)

The 2012 class includes 11 consensus First Team All-Americans, as well as five players who have earned Conference Player of the Year honors. The coaches inducted combine for six conference titles, one national championship, and 33 bowl appearances.

The National Football Foundation also took the opportunity to reveal plans for the new College Football Hall of Fame location. The Hall of Fame recently announced their planned move from South Bend to Atlanta. The new 2-acre site is located across the street from Centennial Olympic Park and adjacent to the Georgia Dome in downtown Atlanta. The new location is scheduled to open by the end of 2014.

The qualifications for the College Football Hall of Fame, particularly the First Team All-American requirement, often will lead to many snubs in the eyes of fans.

Any particular players you feel should have been added this season? Let us know in the comment section below or check out a few selections from CBSSports.com's Jerry Hinnen.

Keep up with the latest college football news from around the country. From the opening kick of the year all the way through the offseason, CBSSports.com has you covered with thisdaily newsletter. View apreview.

Get CBSSports.com College Football updates on Facebook
CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

April 13, 2014
Jameis Winston's busy spring (2:08)
1 April 3, 2014
College Football's Top 10 offensive coaches
2 April 1, 2014
Sarkisian era begins at USC
3 March 6, 2014
Connor Cook works on his delivery


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop