2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Finalists

By Tom Fornelli | College Football Writer
Geno Smith is one of 15 finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. (US Presswire)

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award -- awarded on Dec. 7 -- has narrowed its list of candidates from the original 29 to 15.

Those 15 finalists are:

- Matt Barkley, Southern California

- Tajh Boyd, Clemson

- Mike Glennon, North Carolina State

- Landry Jones, Oklahoma

- Collin Klein, Kansas State

- EJ Manuel, Florida State

- AJ McCarron, Alabama

- Bryn Renner, North Carolina

- Denard Robinson, Michigan

- Geno Smith, West Virginia

- Tyler Tettleton, Ohio

- Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech

- Tyler Wilson, Arkansas

According to the official release, the award goes to the quarterback who "encapsulates all that is positive in college sports by going beyond completion percentage and touchdowns to also value character, citizenship, integrity, and those who honor the game."

Since the award goes beyond "completion percentage and touchdowns," that explains why Denard Robinson, who has completed 54 percent of his passes and thrown more interceptions (8) than touchdowns (7), would be a finalist for something called the "Golden Arm Award."

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

January 27, 2015
NFL Mock Draft: Jameis Winston back on top (3:11)
January 22, 2015
USC Recruiting Update
January 22, 2015
Potential College Football Recruits that could flip
January 15, 2015
Jim Rome: Cardale Jones staying put


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop