FAU and Middle Tennessee State to join C-USA in 2013

FAU and Middle Tennessee State to join C-USA in 2013

By Tom Fornelli | Staff Writer
The Owls will migrate to C-USA a year earlier than expected. (US Presswire)

And now for the biggest news to rock the college football world this year.

Florida Atlantic and Middle Tennessee State will join Conference USA in time for the 2013 season, becoming official members on July 1, according to a report from CBSSports.com's Dennis Dodd. The schools had already announced they'd be joining Conference USA but were originally scheduled to join in 2014.

Now on July 1, Conference USA will say goodbye to Central Florida, Houston, SMU and Memphis as they depart for the Big East while welcoming FAU, Middle Tennessee State, Florida International, North Texas, Louisiana Tech and Texas-San Antonio. This will leave the conference with 14 teams for the 2013 season.

However, both East Carolina and Tulane will leave C-USA following the 2013 season to also move on to the Big East.

As for the current home of Florida Atlantic and Middle Tennessee, the Sun Belt Conference will continue with only eight schools in the 2013 season, though each of the conference's bowl teams will return.

If you're confused by all of this movement, don't worry about it. Things will all change five minutes after you finish reading this, anyway.

For more college football news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnCFB on Twitter, subscribe to our RSS Feed, college football newsletter, and get the Eye On College Football Podcast from iTunes. You can follow Tom Fornelli on Twitter here: @TomFornelli.

Get CBSSports.com College Football updates on Facebook

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video


Most Popular