Mountain West announces inaugural championship game for 2013

Mountain West announces inaugural championship game for 2013

By Chip Patterson | Staff Writer
Boise State and San Diego State will be in opposite divisions and could play in the inaugural MW title game. (US Presswire)

The Mountain West's stock is on the rise with the return of Boise State and San Diego State, and now the revenue could see a boost as well with the creation of two divisions and the Mountain West Football Championship Game.

The conference announced on Tuesday that the inaugural title game will be played on Saturday, Dec. 7, 2013, at the home of the highest-ranked division winner -- according to the BCS standings.

The 12-team membership for football will be divided into the "Mountain" and "West" divisions. Each team will play five divisional games and three cross-divisional contests in the eight-game league schedule. Check out the division lineup:

Mountain Division
Air Force
Boise State
Colorado State
New Mexico
Utah State

West Division
Fresno State
San Diego State
San Jose State

After three years of rapid membership changes, the Mountain West is left with arguably one of the strongest conferences in the "Group of Five" (Big East, Conference USA, MAC, MW, Sun Belt) and a championship game to draw extra interest and revenue. In the future playoff system beginning in 2014, the highest-ranked team from the Group of Five will be guaranteed a spot in one of the non-playoff access bowls.

With the strength of the teams above, a MW team is likely to be in the competition for that spot on an annual basis.

For more college football news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnCFB on Twitter, subscribe to our RSS Feed, college football newsletter, and get the Eye On College Football Podcast from iTunes. You can follow Chip Patterson on Twitter here: @cnpatterson3.

Get College Football updates on Facebook

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

March 24, 2017


Most Popular