Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now
  • My Scores
  • MLB
  • Golf
  • NFL
  • Tennis

Old Big East to be renamed American Athletic Conference

By Chip Patterson | College Football/Basketball Writer

The soon-to-be-renamed Big East finally has a new name: the American Athletic Conference.

The official introduction of the new conference name comes shortly after reports from's Jeremy Fowler and's Brett McMurphy. According to the release, the Big East will rebrand as the American Athletic Conference "across all platforms, associations, and media" at the conclusion of the 2012-13 sports seasons.

[READ MORE: Mike Aresco describes the naming process to]

"We worked with our institutions, sports marketing experts, media partners, and also solicited opinions and reactions from collegiate sports fans to create a compelling list of names," commissioner Mike Aresco explained. "Versions that included the word 'American' led every list. American Athletic Conference represents a strong, durable and aspirational name for our reinvented Conference.

"We engaged our fans through social media and focus groups in multiple cities, and we conducted extensive quantitative research," Aresco added. "We also received terrific input from our partners at ESPN and CBS Sports. Our name is a nod to tradition, but at the same time makes clear our determination to be a Conference with national impact and appeal. The American Athletic Conference will represent core American values of optimism, energy, growth and innovation. We have a broad geographical footprint that represents unity as well as diversity."

The Big East name will carry over to the basketball-focused conference created by seven non-football members of the current Big East. "The Catholic 7" -- DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John's and Villanova -- successfully negotiated to keep the name as part of their exit agreement.

Aresco has worked diligently to keep the remaining members of the Big East together, expanding the future membership to include East Carolina, Tulane, and most recently Tulsa. All three schools will officially join the American Athletic Conference in 2014, with Navy scheduled to join in 2015; giving the conference enough teams (12) for a two-division model with a conference championship game.

Aresco and his staff recently concluded negotiations on new television contracts with ESPN/ABC and CBS, but renaming the league was the first big step forward for the American Athletic Conference.

With Tulsa included, below is the expected membership of the new American Athletic Conference.

2013 -- Cincinnati, Connecticut, Houston, Louisville, Memphis, Rutgers, SMU, Temple, UCF, USF

2014 -- Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, SMU, Temple, Tulane, Tulsa, UCF, USF

2015 -- Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, Navy, SMU, Temple, Tulane, Tulsa, UCF, USF

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

September 16, 2014
Game Breakdown: 5 Auburn at 20 Kansas State (2:27)
1 September 16, 2014
Game Breakdown: 22 Clemson at 1 Florida State
2 September 16, 2014
Picks and Predictions: Rutgers at Navy
3 September 16, 2014
Inside College Football: Upset Picks Week 4


Most Popular Shop

Russell Wilson Seattle Seahawks Nike Platinum Jersey

Nike Platinum Collection
Get your team today
Shop Now