• My Scores
  • Golf
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • NHL

Clowney, Mosely lead defensive players on Bednarik Award watch list

By Chip Patterson | College Football/Basketball Writer

Jadeveon Clowney hopes to join Manti Te'o as the only players to win the Maxwell and Bednarik awards. (USATSI)
Jadeveon Clowney hopes to join Manti Te'o as the only players to win the Maxwell and Bednarik awards. (USATSI)

The Maxwell Award, which also released a 2013 preseason watch list on Monday, is just one of two major college football awards given by the Maxwell Football Club. The Bednarik Award, named for Hall of Famer Chuck Bednarik, has been given annually to the nation's best defensive player since 1995.

South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, thought by some to be an outside Heisman Trophy contender in 2013, leads the list of star defensive players. Clowney was a Bednarik Award semifinalist in 2012, along with Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley and Arizona State defensive tackle Will Sutton. All three players are included on the 2013 watch list.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o made Maxwell Football Club history in 2012, becoming the first player to win the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award in the same year.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced Oct. 29, with three finalists unveiled Nov. 25. The winners for both the Maxwell and Bednarik will be announced as part of the annual college football awards show on Dec. 12.

Check out the full list below. Remember, names can be added or removed from this list during the first weeks of the season. So there are no official "snubs" quite yet.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

November 22, 2014
College football playoff debate (4:51)
November 22, 2014
8 Ole Miss at Arkansas highlights
November 22, 2014
8 Ole Miss vs Arkansas recap
November 22, 2014
Flowers on dominant win over Ole Miss


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's Green Bay Packers Nike Green Reflective Pack Performance Hoodie

Cold Weather Gear
Keep warm in your favorite team apparel
Shop Now