Super Bowl 50

Sun, Feb 7, 2016

Get the latest Super Bowl news >>

Super Bowl Commercials
Broncos Win Super Bowl 50
Home of Super Bowl 50
Watch Now 16 Things to Know Full Coverage

Seferian-Jenkins, Colt Lyerla headline Mackey Award watch list

By Chip Patterson | Staff Writer

Oregon TE Colt Lyerla, a member of the 2013 Mackey Award watch list, is poised to break out in 2013. (USATSI)
Oregon's Colt Lyerla, a member of the 2013 Mackey Award watch list, is poised to break out in 2013. (USATSI)

Watch list season is officially upon us. Most of college football's individual awards will be releasing preseason watch lists throughout the next two weeks, wrapping up July 19 with the Walter Camp Award watch list.

The John Mackey Award, named for Pro Football Hall of Fame member John Mackey, is given annually to the "most outstanding collegiate tight end." The watch list is a starting point, with an updated midseason watch list released in October and the announcement of semifinalists on Nov. 18. The 2013 Mackey Award finalists will be announced on Nov. 25 and the winner will be presented live on Dec. 12 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Washington tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins was a 2nd team All-America selection in 2012, and considered by many to be one of the best tight ends currently in college football. Unfortunately, Seferian-Jenkins' status for 2013 is still up in the air as he remains suspended from team activities while a DUI case plays out.

If you are looking for a sleeper pick, look no further than Washington's Pac-12 North rival Oregon. Junior Colt Lyerla showed glimpses of stardom in 2012, and he should be ready to break out in year two with quarterback Marcus Mariota.

Check out the full list below. Remember, names can be added or removed from this list during the first weeks of the season. So there are no official "snubs" quite yet.

Rory Anderson, South Carolina
Alex Bayer, Bowling Green
Ted Bolser, Indiana
Kyle Carter, Penn State
Gerald Christian, Louisville
Chris Coyle, Arizona State
Nexon Dorvilus, Florida Atlantic
Eric Ebron, North Carolina
Zane Fakes, Ball State
C.J. Fiedorowicz, Iowa
Kaneakua Friel, BYU
Devin Funchess, Michigan
Crockett Gillmore, Colorado State
Xavier Grimble, USC
Jeff Heuerman, Ohio State
Gabe Holmes, Purdue
Gator Hoskins, Marshall
Marcel Jensen, Fresno State
Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
Luke Kaumatule, Stanford
Ben Koyack, Notre Dame
Gabe Linehan, Boise State
Colt Lyerla, Oregon
Arthur Lynch, Georgia
Jake McGee, Virginia
Jake Murphy, Utah
Jordan Najvar, Baylor
Troy Niklas, Notre Dame
Nick O'Leary, Florida State
Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin
Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
Randall Telfer, USC
C.J. Uzomah, Auburn
Brian Vogler, Alabama
Beckett Wales, Syracuse
Clive Walford, Miami
Asa Watson, NC State

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video


Most Popular