AAC announces agreement with four bowl games

AAC announces agreement with four bowl games

By Tom Fornelli | Staff Writer

The American Athletic Conference announced deals with four bowl games on Thursday afternoon. Those bowl games are the Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl, Sheraton Hawaii Bowl, Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl and BBVA Compass Bowl.

"We are proud to continue our successful partnership with the industry leader in sports television. ESPN has established some of the most attractive bowl games in the nation," said conference commissioner Mike Aresco. "These bowls allow us to play outstanding teams and they will also annually reward our student-athletes and coaches with memorable postseason experiences. Our fans will enjoy these great destinations and a national television audience will enjoy watching these compelling bowl games."

The bowl agreements will begin with the 2014 season and last six years. Though the agreement with Armed Forces Bowl will be for the 2014, 2016 and 2018 seasons while the Hawaii Bowl agreement is for 2015, 2017 and 2019.

In the Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl the AAC will play either a team from the ACC or Conference USA. The SEC will provide the opponent in the Compass Bowl and the Mountain West will be the opposition in the Hawaii Bowl. The Armed Forces Bowl will be against Army in 2014 (should Army qualify) and a Big 12 opponent in the other two games.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video


Most Popular