• My Scores
  • NFL
  • MLB
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf

Manziel, Miller lead 16 semifinalists for Davey O'Brien Award

By J. Darin Darst | CBSSports.com Staff

Johnny Manziel is one of 16 quarterbacks up for the Davey O'Brien Award. (USATSI)
Johnny Manziel is one of 16 quarterbacks up for the Davey O'Brien Award. (USATSI)

Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel and Ohio State's Braxton Miller headline a list of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, which is awarded to the best quarterback in the nation.

Manziel, who won the award in 2012, is trying to become only the fourth player in history to win the award twice. BYU's Ty Detmer (1990 and 1991), Florida's Danny Wuerffel (1995 and 1996) and Oklahoma's Jason White (2003 and 2004) are the only other players to take home the trophy more than once.

Davey O'Brien Semifinalists:

Blake Bortles, UCF

Tajh Boyd, Clemson

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville

Derek Carr, Fresno State

Brett Hundley, UCLA

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Sean Mannion, Oregon State

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Marcus Mariota, Oregon

AJ McCarron, Alabama

Zach Mettenberger, LSU

Braxton Miller, Ohio State

Aaron Murray, Georgia

Bryce Petty, Baylor

Connor Shaw, South Carolina

Jameis Winston, Florida State

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

October 9, 2015
Herd defense steemrolling Southern Miss. (0:20)
October 9, 2015
Reaves streaks past defense 61 yards
October 9, 2015
Litton lighting up Golden Eagles
October 9, 2015
Marshall denies Eagles lead on blocked FG


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike Scarlet Ohio State Buckeyes No. 15 Limited Football Jersey

College Sideline Gear
Get your favorite school
Shop Now