Walter Camp Award releases list of 15 semifinalists

By Tom Fornelli | College Football Writer

Johnny Manziel is one of 15 semi-finalists for the Walter Camp Award
Johnny Manziel is one of 15 semifinalists for the Walter Camp Award. (USATSI)

I get kind of sad when college football awards start cutting down their watch lists because it means we're approaching the end of the season, and I never like it when college football seasons end. Alas, there's not much I can do about it, and on Wednesday the Walter Camp Award released its list of 15 semifinalists for the award.

The Walter Camp Award is given to the best college football player in the country as voted on by the head coaches and sports information directors of the FBS. Last year the award was given to Notre Dame's Manti Te'o.

This year's winner will come from this list of 15 players.

Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA

Tajh Boyd, QB, Clemson

Teddy Bridgewater, QB, Louisville

Ka'Deem Carey, RB, Arizona

Derek Carr, QB, Fresno State

Mike Evans, WR, Texas A&M

Jordan Lynch, QB, Northern Illinois

Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M

Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon

AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama

Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama

Bryce Petty, QB, Baylor

Michael Sam, DE, Missouri

Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State

As you can see, 10 of the 15 semifinalists are quarterbacks, and the SEC leads all conferences with five players listed.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

April 13, 2014
Jameis Winston's busy spring (2:08)
1 April 3, 2014
College Football's Top 10 offensive coaches
2 April 1, 2014
Sarkisian era begins at USC
3 March 6, 2014
Connor Cook works on his delivery


Most Popular Shop