Maxwell Collegiate Coach of the Year Award names 16 semifinalists

By Jerry Hinnen | College Football Writer

Jimbo Fisher has his Seminoles in line for a BCS Championship berth. (USATSI)
Jimbo Fisher has his Seminoles in line for a BCS Championship berth. (USATSI)
The Maxwell Football Club announced Wednesday its 16 semifinalists for its Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, selected by the Club's National Selection Committee.

There weren't many surprises, with seven out of the first eight names from Bruce Feldman's recent list of the top 10 Coach of the Year candidates making the cut. (Ball State's Pete Lembo was the one exception, with Fresno State's Tim DeRuyter and Northern Illinois's Rod Carey the only non-BCS coaches to make the Maxwell cut.)

The 16 candidates are:

Nick Saban, Alabama

Gus Malzahn, Auburn

Art Briles, Baylor

Steve Addazio, Boston College

Dabo Swinney, Clemson

David Cutcliffe, Duke

Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State

Jimbo Fisher, Florida State

Mark Dantonio, Michigan State

Gary Pinkel, Missouri

Rod Carey, Northern Illinois

Urban Meyer, Ohio State

Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State

George O'Leary, UCF

Ed Orgeron, USC

Gary Andersen, Wisconsin

After a round of voting to reduce the semifinalist pool to finalists, the winner will be announced Dec. 17.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

May 29, 2015
FSU QB John Franklin transferring (1:08)
May 29, 2015
Friday Top Five: Conference Sleepers
May 28, 2015
Dennis Dodd talks hot SEC topics entering 2015
May 27, 2015
Gottlieb: Dabo Swinney will not attend Palmetto Family Council fundraiser


Most Popular