• My Scores
  • NFL
  • MLB
  • Golf
  • NHL

Nagurski Trophy names five finalists

Nagurski Trophy names five finalists

By Tom Fornelli | Staff Writer

Alabama's C.J. Mosley is the only linebacker to make the cut)
Alabama's C.J. Mosley is the only linebacker to make the cut. (USATSI)

The latest award to cut down its list of candidates is the Nagurski Award, which released its list of five finalists on Thursday. The Nagursky Trophy is given annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club to the best all-around defensive player in the country.

Only three conferences are represented among the five finalists: The SEC, ACC and Big Ten.

Darqueze Dennard, CB, Michigan State

Aaron Donald, DT, Pittsburgh

Lamarcus Joyner, CB, Florida State

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama

Michael Sam, DE, Missouri

None of this year's finalists were finalists for the award last season, when Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won. If either Dennard or Joyner win the award they would be the first defensive back to receive the honor since Oklahoma's Derrick Strait in 2003.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Brand Jordan Navy Michigan Wolverines 2016 Elite Coaches Sideline Performance Polo

College Sideline Gear
Get yours today!
Shop Now