Lombardi Award announces four finalists

By Tom Fornelli | College Football Writer

Anthony Barr is looking to become UCLA's first Lombardi Award winner
Anthony Barr is looking to become UCLA's first Lombardi Award winner. (USATSI)

The Rotary Lombardi Award announced its four finalists on Thursday. The Lombardi Award, named after former Green Bay Packers coach Vince Lombardi, and given out by The Rotary Club of Houston, is given annually to the top college football lineman in the country.

This year's finalists are:

Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA

Aaron Donald, DT, Pittsburgh

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama

Michael Sam, DE, Missouri

The Lombardi Award is the second defensive award that Donald, Mosley and Sam are finalists for, along with the Nagurski Trophy.

Should C.J. Mosley win the award he'd be the first Alabama player to do so since Cornelius Bennett in 1986. Aaron Donald would be the first Pitt Panther to win since Hugh Green in 1980. Neither UCLA or Missouri have ever had a player win the Lombardi Award.

Last year's winner was Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

July 29, 2015
Impact of Wisconsin transfer on Russell Wilson (3:13)
July 29, 2015
Oklahoma FB has humorous reaction after visit to dentist
July 29, 2015
Nick Saban speaks on his continued success
July 29, 2015
Nick Saban says Alabama's offense has progressed


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's Nike Charcoal Denver Broncos Training Camp Performance T-Shirt

NFL Training Camp Gear
Get your favorite team
Shop Now