Hornung Award finalists: Manziel, Myles Jack lead versatile group

By Chip Patterson | College Football/Basketball Writer

UCLA freshman Myles Jack is one of five finalists for the Paul Hornung Award. (USATSI)
UCLA freshman Myles Jack is one of five finalists for the Paul Hornung Award. (USATSI)

The finalists for the Paul Hornung Award, given annually to the most versatile player in major college football, were announced on Thursday. The group, introduced by Paul Hornung himself, includes return specialists, multipurpose offensive threats, and the latest two-way star.

Marion Grice, Arizona State running back/return specialist

Antonio Andrews, Western Kentucky running back/return specialist

Odell Beckham Jr., LSU wide receiver/return specialist

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M quarterback

Myles Jack, UCLA linebacker/running back

Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner and holder of the NFL's single-season scoring record, seemed pleased with the collection of finalists.

"I like this group of players as finalists for my award," he said. "They show up in the big games, can find the end zone and do what it takes to win - which was how I played the game. It will be interesting to watch them in action the rest of the season."

Marion Grice and Myles Jack will like up opposite each other on Saturday when Arizona State visits to play the Bruins with the Pac-12 South on the line. Johnny Manziel and Odell Beckham will also share the field this week in Texas A&M-LSU; a game that can be seen on CBS and here on CBSSports.com

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

July 29, 2015
Should Notre Dame join a conference or remain independent? (0:50)
July 29, 2015
Butch Jones on Eric Berry
July 29, 2015
Impact of Wisconsin transfer on Russell Wilson
July 29, 2015
Oklahoma FB has humorous reaction after visit to dentist


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's Nike Charcoal Denver Broncos Training Camp Performance T-Shirt

NFL Training Camp Gear
Get your favorite team
Shop Now