Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now
  • My Scores
  • MLB
  • Golf
  • NFL
  • Tennis

Butkus Award finalists announced

By Tom Fornelli | College Football Writer

Buffalo's Khalil Mack is one of the five finalists
Buffalo's Khalil Mack is one of the five finalists. (USATSI)

The Butkus Award, given to the best linebacker in college football, announced its five finalists on Monday. Those finalists are:

Anthony Barr, UCLA

Khalil Mack, Buffalo

C.J. Mosley, Alabama

Ryan Shazier, Ohio State

Shayne Skov, Stanford

Personally I'm happy to see that Buffalo's Khalil Mack was recognized for his play. All too often with these awards we see deserving players from smaller conferences passed over, so it's nice to see Mack recognized alongside his brethren from the Pac-12, SEC and Big Ten.

The Butkus Award is obviously named after former Illinois linebacker and NFL Hall of Famer Dick Butkus. Last year's recipient was Notre Dame's Manti Te'o.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

September 20, 2014
Sonic Taste of Tradition: Alabama Crimson Tide (0:37)
1 September 20, 2014
Driskel runs for Florida TD
2 September 20, 2014
Blake hits Cooper for 79-yard score
3 September 20, 2014
Neal returns a fumble for a 49-yard TD


Most Popular Shop

Mens Baltimore Orioles Majestic Charcoal 2014 AL East Division Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

MLB Division Champs Gear
Get your team today
Shop Now