Super Bowl 50

Sun, Feb 7, 2016

Get the latest Super Bowl news >>

Super Bowl Commercials
Broncos Win Super Bowl 50
Home of Super Bowl 50
Watch Now 16 Things to Know Full Coverage

McCarron, Manziel, Winston named finalists for Maxwell, O'Brien awards

By Chip Patterson | Staff Writer

Alabama QB AJ McCarron is ninth in the nation in passing efficiency. (USATSI)
Alabama QB AJ McCarron is ninth in the nation in passing efficiency. (USATSI)

Three quarterbacks were named finalists for the Maxwell Award, given anually to the "college player of the year," so it should come as little surprise that those same three players were named as the finalists for the Davey O'Brien Award; given to the nation's best quarterback.

AJ McCarron, Alabama

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Jameis Winston, Florida State

All three players are in contention to collect some serious hardware in December, and it is unlikely that one player will sweep the honors reserved for elite quarterbacks. The Maxwell Award winner and Heisman Trophy winner were different last season, and any of these three could pop up as a first-team All-American on different lists next month.

The CBS Sports All-America Team will be revealed on Dec. 17 on CBS Sports Network. One of the names above is more likely to surface on that team than the quarterback on our 2013 Midseason All-America team, Marcus Mariota.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video


Most Popular