Play Fantasy The Most Award Winning Fantasy game with real time scoring, top expert analysis, custom settings, and more. Play Now

Lou Groza and Ray Guy finalists: kickers and punters honored

By Chip Patterson | College Football/Basketball Writer

Marvin Kloss has 14 field goals for South Florida, including nine from 40+ yards. (USATSI)
Marvin Kloss has 14 field goals, including nine from 40+ yards. (USATSI)

The best kickers and punters received recognition along with the rest of the college football on Monday, as the Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award announced their finalists.

Both awards are usually met with scrutiny from fans who feel their particular kicker or punter was snubbed; but it is difficult to make any argument against any of the finalists. Aguayo set the FBS record for most consecutive extra points in one season, having made all 80 of his attempts thus far; Kloss leads the nation with field goals of at least 40 yards and only seven of Drew Kaser's 26 punts have been returned -- just to name a few of the finalists' accomplishments.

Lou Groza Award finalists:

Roberto Aguayo, Florida State

Anthony Fera, Texas

Marvin Kloss, South Florida

Ray Guy Award finalists:

Tom Hornsey, Memphis

Drew Kaser, Texas A&M

Cody Webster, Purdue

The winners for both awards will be announced Dec. 12 during the The Home Depot College Football Awards.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video


Most Popular Shop