College football awards: Jameis Winston, AJ McCarron big winners

By Chip Patterson | College Football/Basketball Writer

AJ McCarron beats out Johnny Manziel and Jameis Winston for the Maxwell Award. (USATSI)
AJ McCarron beats out Johnny Manziel and Jameis Winston for the Maxwell Award. (USATSI)

Many of the major individual awards for 2013 will be handed out on Thursday night in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show. We'll be updating each major award and any other interesting observations throughout the night. Don't forget that the CBS Sports Awards, including the unveiling of the CBS Sports All-America team, will take place on Tuesday, Dec. 17 on

9:00 p.m. ET -- The Home Depot Awards Show wrapped up with the presentation of the Maxwell Award for collegiate player of the year. The award featured the same three finalists as the Davey O'Brien Award (Johnny Manziel, AJ McCarron, Jameis Winston) but the results were different. McCarron took home the Maxwell Award, becoming the first SEC player to win the award since Cam Newton in 2010.

8:50 p.m. ET -- The Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's best defensive player, was presented by former award recipient Pat Fitzgerald. Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald took the award home, adding it to the Outland, Lombardi and Nagurski awards. Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley and UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr were also finalists.

8:30 p.m. ET -- In a ceremony that actually took place before the television broadcast, Florida State center Bryan Stork won the Rimington Award, given to the nation's most outstanding collegiate center. Stork beat out Reese Dismukes (Auburn), Hroniss Grasu (Oregon), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Tyler Larsen (Utah State) and Travis Swanson (Arkansas).

8:28 p.m. ET -- The Ray Guy Award, given to the nation's best punter, had an Australian flair this year with Memphis punter Tom Hornsey taking the award. Hornsey was among the nation's best at pinning punts inside the 30-yard line and was presented the award by Ray Guy himself. Drew Kaser (Texas A&M) and Cody Webster (Purdue) were also finalists for the award.

8:20 p.m. ET -- Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald has been racking up the awards this week, and on Thursday he added the Outland Trophy, given to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman, to his collection. Donald beat out Texas A&M offensive tackle Jack Matthews and Baylor guard Cyril Richardson for the award.

8:07 p.m. ET -- Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston claimed the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the nation's best quarterback. Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, the 2012 Davey O'Brien Award winner, was a finalist along with Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron.

7:50 p.m. ET -- Michigan State cornerback Darqueze Dennard put on show in the Big Ten title game against Ohio State on Saturday, and claimed the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation's best defensive back, on Thursday night. Dennard beat out Lamarcus Joyner (Florida State) and Justin Gilbert (Oklahoma State ) for the award.

7:26 p.m. ET -- Florida State kicker Roberto Aguayo became the third Seminole to win the Lou Groza Award, given to the nation's best kicker. Aguayo has outscored Florida State's opponents this year, and connected on 19 of 20 field goal attempts as well as all 90 of his PAT attempts. The other finalists for the Lou Groza Award were Anthony Fera (Texas ) and Marvin Kloss (USF ).

7:22 p.m. ET -- Oregon State wide receiver Brandin Cooks beat out Clemson's Sammy Watkins and Texas A&M's Mike Evans for the Biletnikoff Award, given to the nation's best wide receiver. In a year filled with tremendous receiving performances -- Davante Adams, Jordan Matthews and Antwan Goodley weren't even finalists, Cooks led all of FBS in receiving yards per game (129.2) and ranked second in touchdown catches (15) and receptions per game (10).

7:09 p.m. ET -- The Doak Walker Award, given to the nations best running back, was given to Andre Williams from Boston College . Williams will be in New York City later this week as a Heisman Trophy finalist after rushing for 2,102 yards and 17 touchdowns in 2013. The other finalists for the Doak Walker Award were Ka'Deem Carey (Arizona) and Bishop Sankey (Washington).

6:30 p.m. ET -- The award ceremony won't begin for another thirty minutes, but one of the biggest individual awards was just announced as Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was named the Walter Camp Player of the Year. The national player of the year award does not usually match the Heisman Trophy winner, but in 2013 odds are good that Winston will claim both awards.

Not bad company for Winston if he does win the Heisman. Keep it here or follow along on Twitter (@EyeOnCFB) for more updates throughout the night. Remember, the awards will start rolling around 7 p.m. ET.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

April 21, 2015
UAB Football update (1:07)
April 21, 2015
Will Ohio State discipline Michael Bennett?
April 21, 2015
Pac-12 survey finds excessive time demands on athletes
April 20, 2015
Ohio State preview


Most Popular Shop

Men's New Era Red Tampa Bay Buccaneers 2015 NFL Draft On-Stage 59FIFTY Fitted Hat

2015 NFL Draft Day Hats
Get your team today
Shop Now