Duke's David Cutcliffe named Maxwell Coach of the Year

By Jerry Hinnen | College Football Writer

No other coach has ever won 10 games in a season at Duke.
No other coach has ever won 10 games in a season at Duke. (USATSI)
Duke 's David Cutcliffe has picked up his second major coaching award of the 2013 season after being named the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Friday.

Cutclife guided the Blue Devils to the program's first-ever 10-win season, first eight-game winning streak and its first ACC Coastal championship. After going 17 seasons without a bowl berth, Duke has now earned back-to-back postseason appearances under Cutcliffe. (So no, it's not hard to see why voters selected him for the award.)

Cutcliffe took the honor over fellow finalists Gus Malzahn of Auburn and Gary Pinkel of Missouri. He was previously named the Walter Camp Coach of the Year, an award voted on by the head coaches and sports information directors of the 125 FBS member schools.

Don't feel too badly for Malzahn, though; he's won the FWAA's Eddie Robinson Award and the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award for his historic turnaround at Auburn.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

August 3, 2015
Baylor's 408-pound tight end (1:06)
August 3, 2015
SEC player survey
July 31, 2015
USC ranked No. 10 in Coaches Poll
July 31, 2015
Friday Five: Overrated Teams In The Coaches Poll


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's Nike Charcoal Denver Broncos Training Camp Performance T-Shirt

NFL Training Camp Gear
Get your favorite team
Shop Now