• My Scores
  • NHL
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • Golf

David Cutcliffe named Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year

By Jerry Hinnen | College Football Writer

David Cutcliffe coached Duke to its first-ever 10-win season. (USATSI)
David Cutcliffe coached Duke to its first-ever 10-win season. (USATSI)
There might not be a consensus on the college football Coach of the Year. But there is a consensus on which two coaches separated themselves from the field after Duke 's David Cutcliffe added to his trophy haul by winning the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award Monday.

Cutcliffe had already been named the Coach of the Year by the Maxwell Football Club and the Walter Camp Foundation. The argument for Cutcliffe is an easy one to make: after taking over a team that had gone 4-42 in the four seasons before his 2008 arrival, in 2013 Cutcliffe guided the Blue Devils to the program's first-ever 10-win season, first-ever back-to-back bowl appearances, and first-ever ACC Coastal title.

The Bobby Dodd Foundation awards the honor, which is selected by a committee of previous recipients -- among the former winners present at Monday's announcement, per the Associated Press, were Vince Dooley, Jim Grobe, Ralph Friedgen, and others -- and other college football experts.

Of course, experts can differ, which is why Auburn's Gus Malzahn has won his own fair share of awards, including the AP's Coach of the Year honor. Picking between the two coaches' 2013 resumes is nearly impossible -- and so it's only fair they seem to be dividing the major postseason coaching awards as evenly as possible.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

December 19, 2014
Gary Andersen joins Jim Rome (5:13)
December 17, 2014
P.J. Fleck joins Jim Rome
December 17, 2014
College Football Recruiting Update: 12/17
December 17, 2014
Coaching changes impacting recruiting


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

College Bowl Bound

Free 2-Day Shipping over $100!
Use code 2DAY100
Get their favorite team
Shop Now

2014-15 College FB Playoff
College Football Playoff