WATCH LIST: Nagurski Trophy list dominated by Pac-12, SEC players

By Chip Patterson | College Football/Basketball Writer

Watch Lists: Maxwell (player of the year) | Bednarik (defensive player) | More

Watch list week continued on Thursday with the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy awards each releasing preseason watch lists. We'll be posting at least one of these lengthy roll calls each day this week, getting our minds set for football seasons before conference media days get started later this month.

These two awards were notable in 2013 because they were both won by the same player: Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald.

The Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the nation's top defensive player by the Charlotte Touchdown Club. The 81-player list is headlined by Clemson defensive end Vic Beasley, Oregon cornerback Ifo Ekpre-Olomu and Kansas State defensive end Ryan Mueller.

Stanford and Washington were the only schools to have four players selected to the watch list, helping the Pac-12 lead all conferences with 18 selections.

  • Pac-12: 18
  • SEC: 16
  • Big 12: 13
  • ACC: 12
  • Big Ten: 10
  • American Athletic: 4
  • Independents: 4
  • Mountain West: 3
  • Conference USA: 1

Check out the full list below, courtesy of the Charlotte Touchdown Club:

Henry Anderson, Stanford, DE
Stephone Anthony, Clemson, LB
Vic Beasley, Clemson, DE
Michael Bennett, Ohio State, DT
Craig Bills, BYU, DB
Joey Bosa, Ohio State, DE
Kelby Brown, Duke, LB
Malcom Brown, Texas, DT
Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State, DE
Alex Carter, Stanford, DB
Sam Carter, TCU, DB
Jeremy Cash, Duke, DB
Frank Clark, Michigan, DE
Landon Collins, Alabama, DB
Blake Countess, Michigan, DB
Christian Covington, Rice, DT
Su'a Cravens, USC, DB
Carl Davis, Iowa, DT
Tyeler Davison, Fresno State, DE
Trey DePriest, Alabama, LB
Quandre Diggs, Texas, DB
Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, DB
Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State, DB
Alvin Dupree, Kentucky, DE
Mario Edwards Jr., Florida State, DE
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, DB
Kyler Fackrell, Utah State, LB
Devonte Fields, TCU, DE
Trey Flowers, Arkansas, DE
Leonard Floyd, Georgia, LB
Dante Fowler Jr., Florida, DE
Alani Fua, BYU, LB
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, DB
Markus Golden, Missouri, DE
Randy Gregory, Nebraska, DE
Bryce Hager, Baylor, LB
Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, DB
Anthony Harris, Virginia, DB
Ben Heeney, Kansas, LB
Chucky Hunter, TCU, DT
Martin Ifedi, Memphis, DE
Myles Jack, UCLA, LB
Grady Jarrett, Clemson, DT
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia, LB
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, LB
Eric Kendricks, UCLA, LB
Hau'oli Kikaha, Washington, DE
Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech, DT
Derrick Malone, Oregon, LB
Tyler Matakevich, Temple, LB
Derrick Mathews, Houston, LB
Lorenzo Mauldin, Louisville, DE
Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State, LB
Ryan Mueller, Kansas State, DE
Steven Nelson, Oregon State, DB
Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss, DT
Shawn Oakman, Baylor, DE
Denzel Perryman, Miami, LB
Marcus Peters, Washington, DB
Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, DB
Hayes Pullard, USC, LB
Cedric Reed, Texas, DE
Jordan Richards, Stanford, DB
A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama, DE
KeiVarae Russell, Notre Dame, DB
Jake Ryan, Michigan, LB
Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, DB
Danny Shelton, Washington, DT
Derron Smith, Fresno State, DB
Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame, LB
Eric Striker, Oklahoma, LB
Charles Tapper, Oklahoma, DE
A.J. Tarpley, Stanford, LB
Jared Tevis, Arizona, DB
Shaq Thompson, Washington, LB
Tony Washington, Oregon, DE
Trae Waynes, Michigan State, DB
P.J. Williams, Florida State, DB
Leonard Williams, USC, DE
Ramik Wilson, Georgia, LB
Gabe Wright, Auburn, DT

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

College Football Video

August 3, 2015
Baylor's 408-pound tight end (1:06)
August 3, 2015
SEC player survey
July 31, 2015
USC ranked No. 10 in Coaches Poll
July 31, 2015
Friday Five: Overrated Teams In The Coaches Poll


Most Popular Shop

Men's Nike Charcoal Denver Broncos Training Camp Performance T-Shirt

NFL Training Camp Gear
Get your favorite team
Shop Now