San Diego State at New Mexico State

San Diego St, beats New Mexico St., 26-16


LAS CRUCES, N.M. (AP) Donnel Pumphrey rushed for a career-high 167 yards and three touchdowns, leading San Diego State (1-3) to a come-from-behind victory over New Mexico State Saturday night.

Pumphrey rushed 19 times for an average of 8.8 yards a carry. Quinn Kaehler threw 22 of 34 for 229 yards.

The Aggies (0-5) scored 16 unanswered points in the first half including a 15-yard touchdown pass by Andrew McDonald in the second quarter. San Diego State blocked the extra point attempt for a safety to get on the scoreboard, followed by a Wes Feer field goal to trail 16-5 at halftime.

San Diego State continued the comeback in the second half with two Pumphrey rushing touchdowns. The two-point conversion on the first failed, but the attempt on the second was good, giving the Aztecs a 19-16 lead. A final Pumphrey touchdown late in the fourth sealed the Aztec win.

Copyright 2017 by STATS LLC. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Related Video

Scoring Summary
NMEXSTJoshua Bowen 6 yd pass from Andrew McDonald (Maxwell Johnson kick)
NMEXSTMaxwell Johnson 28 yd FG
NMEXSTAndrew Dean 15 yd pass from Andrew McDonald (blocked XP)
SDGSTDavid Lamar returned XP
SDGSTWes Feer 25 yd FG
SDGSTDonnel Pumphrey 12 yd run (failed 2pt pass)
SDGSTDonnel Pumphrey 2 yd run (ADAM MUEMA 2pt run)
SDGSTDonnel Pumphrey 43 yd run (Wes Feer kick)
Team Stats
First Downs2214
Third Down Efficiency9-194-15
Fourth Down Efficiency1-30-1
Plays-Net Yards77-44162-268
Passing Yds229228
Kick Return Yds4920
Punt Return Yds266
Time of Poss.35:4024:20
Individual Stats
SDGST: Donnel Pumphrey 19-167, Adam Muema 10-25, Chad Young 3-15, Dwayne Garrett 3-11, King Holder 1-4, Ezell Ruffin 1-0, Team 2--4, Quinn Kaehler 4--6
NMEXST: Brandon Betancourt 14-32, Germi Morrison 5-8, Andrew McDonald 7-1, Jake Capraro 1--1
SDGST: Quinn Kaehler 22-34-229-0
NMEXST: Andrew McDonald 23-35-228-0
SDGST: Ezell Ruffin 8-101, Dylan Denso 3-44, Tim Vizzi 3-21, Adam Roberts 2-12, Colin Lockett 2-10, Larry Clark 1-33, Robert Craighead 1-8, Adam Muema 1-2, Donnel Pumphrey 1--2
NMEXST: Joshua Bowen 6-66, Adam Shapiro 5-58, Jerrel Brown 3-35, Austin Franklin 2-18, Jordan Bergstrom 2-10, Andrew Dean 1-15, Joseph Matthews 1-11, Brandon Betancourt 1-11, Rayvean Moore 1-2, Anthony Joyner 1-2
San Diego State1st Mountain West West6-211-3
New Mexico State8th Sun Belt 2-63-9

CBSSports Shop