Louisiana Tech at UTSA

Texas-San Antonio downs Louisiana Tech 30-10


SAN ANTONIO (AP) Eric Soza threw for one touchdown and ran for another Saturday and UTSA beat Louisiana Tech 30-10 but is likely out of bowl contention.

Mississippi State became the 70th team eligible for a bowl game by beating Mississippi 17-10 on Thursday, likely dashing UTSA's (7-5, 6-2 Conference USA) hopes.

UTSA held Louisiana Tech (4-8, 3-5) to 193 yards of total offense and 42 yards rushing to win their fifth straight.

Soza hit Jarveon Williams with a 31-yard TD pass in the opening drive and later scored on a 20-yard run. Sean Ianno's 21-yard field goal gave UTSA a 17-10 halftime lead.

Kyle Fischer kicked a 24-yard field goal for the Bulldogs and Adairius Barnes picked off a Soza pass and ran it 26 yards for a score.

Evans Okotcha's 1-yard TD run in the third quarter and two field goals by Ianno in the fourth capped the scoring for UTSA.

Copyright 2017 by STATS LLC. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.
CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Related Video

January 19, 2017
Recruiting Outlook: Tennessee (2:11)
Scoring Summary
TXSAJarveon Williams 31 yd pass from Eric Soza (Sean Ianno kick)
LATECHKyle Fischer 24 yd FG
TXSAEric Soza 20 yd run (Sean Ianno kick)
TXSASean Ianno 21 yd FG
LATECHAdairius Barnes 26 yd interception return (Kyle Fischer kick)
TXSAEvans Okotcha 1 yd run (Sean Ianno kick)
TXSASean Ianno 21 yd FG
TXSASean Ianno 37 yd FG
Team Stats
First Downs1318
Third Down Efficiency2-148-17
Fourth Down Efficiency1-30-0
Plays-Net Yards57-19373-475
Passing Yds151284
Kick Return Yds16579
Punt Return Yds24-1
Time of Poss.21:4338:17
Individual Stats
LATECH: Tevin King 11-39, Marlon Seets 2-12, Blake Martin 4-7, Hunter Lee 1--1, Ryan Higgins 1--4, Scotty Young 1--11
TXSA: Evans Okotcha 26-105, Eric Soza 5-38, Brandon Armstrong 3-20, Jerry Bynum 1-12, Kam Jones 2-9, Jarveon Williams 4-7, Tucker Carter 3-7, David Glasco 1-2, Team 4--9
LATECH: Scotty Young 13-24-80-1, Ryan Higgins 7-13-71-0
TXSA: Eric Soza 17-20-271-1, Tucker Carter 2-4-13-1
LATECH: Richie Casey 4-48, Sterling Griffin 3-18, Jaydrick DeClouette 3-18, D.J. Banks 3-4, Eddie Johnson 2-38, Blake Martin 2--3, Hunter Lee 1-19, Tevin King 1-5, Jon Greenwalt 1-4
TXSA: Marcellus Mack 4-30, Jarveon Williams 3-47, Evans Okotcha 2-68, Cole Hubble 2-45, Kam Jones 2-13, Brandon Armstrong 2-9, Aaron Grubb 1-40, Seth Grubb 1-20, Brandon Freeman 1-7, Jeremiah Moeller 1-5
Louisiana Tech1st Conference USA West6-29-5
UTSA2nd Conference USA West5-36-7

CBSSports Shop