• My Scores
  • NFL
  • MLB
  • Golf

Big 12 set for 10 in 2012, Missouri included

The Sports Xchange

The Big 12 will have 10 teams for 2012. Mark it down.

Interim commissioner Chuck Neinas said Tuesday the league is set with 10 teams after the addition of TCU, even as Missouri is looking into bolting to the Southeastern Conference.

The Big 12 has given no deadline for Missouri to make a decision, though Neinas said something would have to be set by the end of the academic year.

If they were to leave, it wouldn't happen until after 2012. The Big 12 must know the Mizzou's plans to before it can explore whether to stay at 10 members or expand back to 12.

"We can't address the 10 vs. 12 until we determine that Missouri is going to be one of the 10," Neinas told ESPN.com "There's no consensus at the present time between the conference members as to 10 or 12."

TCU accepted an invitation Monday to join the Big 12, and will replace Texas A&M when the Aggies leave for the SEC next July. The Horned Frogs are the first new addition since the Big 12 began 1996. Texas A&M is the third school to depart after Nebraska (Big Ten) and Colorado (Pac-12) left earlier this year.

"We'll give Missouri time to evaluate its situation, and have an opportunity to look at the Big 12 Conference and perhaps get a better understanding of where we're going," Neinas said. "We're in process of solidifying the conference, and I think that's already been proven," he said. "There are a lot of positives the curators of Missouri have a chance to listen to."

Copyright (C) 2011 The Sports Xchange. All Rights Reserved.


Biggest Stories



Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop