Paterno loses 111 wins in NCAA sanctions, Bowden becomes new wins leader wire reports

Bobby Bowden is now recognized as the FBS all-time wins leader with 377. (AP)  
Bobby Bowden is now recognized as the FBS all-time wins leader with 377. (AP)  

In swift and broad sanctions that flatten the short-term future of Penn State football, the NCAA also deflated much of its past.

Late coach Joe Paterno was docked 111 wins, vacated between 1998 and 2011, which removes Paterno as the all-time winningest coach in Division I football coach and reduces Penn State's all-time wins total to now stand outside the top 10 winningest programs of all-time.

All-Time FBS Wins
Coach Yrs Wins
1. Bobby Bowden 44 377
2. Bear Bryant 38 323
3. Pop Warner 44 319
4. Amos Alonzo Stagg 57 314
5. Joe Paterno 46 298

Paterno stands eighth on the all-time wins list with 298 and fifth among FBS coaches.

Bobby Bowden (Florida State) is now recognized as the FBS' all-time wins leader with 377 victories.

NCAA president Dr. Mark Emmert stayed on message of changing the athletic culture and an overall failure of integrity but refused to speak directly to Paterno's role in the incident.

"We expressly have in these sanctions and findings withheld judment on individuals and will do so until all the criminal investigations have concluded," Emmert said.

Emmert said all current Penn State players who are eligibile are cleared to transfer to other Division I programs without having to sit out one season as per usual transfer rules. The NCAA will consider waiving scholarship maximums for schools who accept Penn State transfers.


Biggest Stories

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre


Most Popular