Barkley, Te'o among 15 finalists for college football scholar-athlete award wire reports

Southern California quarterback Matt Barkley and Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o are among 15 finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, given to the top scholar-athlete in college football.

The finalists are chosen by the National Football Foundation from all levels of college football and each receives $18,000 in post-graduate scholarships. The winner will receive an additional $7,000 scholarship.

The Campbell Trophy will be awarded Dec. 4 at the NFF's Hall of Fame banquet in New York.

Last year's winner was Army linebacker Andrew Rodriguez.

The other finalists announced Wednesday are:

Alabama center Barrett Jones
Nebraska running back Rex Burkhead
Texas tech safety Cody Davis
Mount Union safety Nick Driskill
Baylor quarterback Nick Florence
Northern Illinois defensive tackle Nabal Jefferson
West Texas A&M offensive lineman Aaron Mullane
Syracuse quarterback Ryan Nassib
Robert Morris defensive end Nolan Nearhoof
MIT offensive lineman Ethan Peterson
Duke quarterback Sean Renfree
Northwestern offensive lineman Patrick Ward
Saint Xavier (Ill.) receiver Shane Zackery.

Copyright 2016 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.

Biggest Stories

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop