• by Shawn Krest |

    NL All-Star reserves, pitchers and Final Vote candidates revealed

    The National League All Star reserves and pitchers were announced on Monday evening, and there was no room for the reigning National League MVP.

    Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw was not selected for the All Star team, although he's one of five candidates to take the final spot on the roster in the Final Vote. 

    Chicago Cubs third baseman Kris Bryant made the team as an injury replacement for the Miami Marlins ' Giancarlo Stanton . Bryant is one of two rookies on the team, along with Dodgers outfielder Joc Pederson

    The Pittsburgh Pirates sent two starting pitchers to the All Star team for the first time since 1960. MLB wins leader Gerrit Cole and fellow Pittsburgh starter A.J. Burnett will both be making their first appearance. 

    National League reserves are:

    Catchers:  Yasmani Grandal , Dodgers;  Yadier Molina , St. Louis Cardinals
    First basemen:  Adrian Gonzalez , Dodgers;  Anthony Rizzo , Cubs
    Second basemen:  DJ LeMahieu , Colorado Rockies Joe Panik , San Francisco Giants
    Third basemen:  Nolan Arenado , Rockies; Kris Bryant, Cubs
    Shortstop:  Brandon Crawford , Giants
    Outfielders:  Andrew McCutchen , Pirates; Joc Pederson, Dodgers;  A.J. Pollock , Diamondbacks;  Justin Upton , San Diego Padres

    National League pitchers are:

    Madison Bumgarner , Giants; A.J. Burnett, Pirates;  Aroldis Chapman , Cincinnati Reds ; RHP: Gerrit Cole, Pirates;  Jacob deGrom , New York Mets ; Zack Greinke , Dodgers;  Mark Melancon , Pirates;  Shelby Miller , Atlanta Braves Jonathan Papelbon , Philadelphia Phillies ; Francisco Rodriguez , Milwaukee Brewers Trevor Rosenthal , Cardinals;  Max Scherzer , Washington Nationals Michael Wacha , Cardinals

    The five candidates for the Final Vote are:

    Johnny Cueto , Reds;  Jeurys Familia , Mets;  Carlos Martinez , Cardinals; Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers;  Troy Tulowitzki , Rockies

  • by Igor Mello |

    National League starters revealed for All-Star Game

    On Sunday, Major League Baseball revealed the National League starting lineup for the 2014 All-Star Game, which will be held on July 15 at Target Field in Minneapolis.

    The following players were selected as starters by the fans:

    C Yadier Molina , St. Louis Cardinals
    1B Paul Goldschmidt , Arizona Diamondbacks
    2B Chase Utley , Philadelphia Phillies
    SS Troy Tulowitzki , Colorado Rockies
    3B Aramis Ramirez , Milwaukee Brewers
    OF Andrew McCutchen , Pittsburgh Pirates
    OF Carlos Gomez , Brewers
    OF Yasiel Puig , Los Angeles Dodgers

    RHP Johnny Cueto , Cincinnati Reds
    LHP Clayton Kershaw , Dodgers
    RHP Zack Greinke , Dodgers
    LHP Madison Bumgarner , San Francisco Giants
    RHP Adam Wainwright , Cardinals
    RHP Tyson Ross , San Diego Padres
    RHP Jordan Zimmermann , Washington Nationals
    RHP Julio Teheran , Atlanta Braves
    RHP Craig Kimbrel , Braves
    LHP Aroldis Chapman , Reds
    RHP Francisco Rodriguez , Brewers
    LHP Tony Watson , Pirates
    RHP Pat Neshek , Cardinals