Sara Errani loses her mind after chair umpire makes terrible call

By Evan Hilbert | CBSSports.com

sara errani
Sara Errani was rightfully displeased with a chair umpire's decision Tuesday. (Getty Images)

Well this is a truly awful call, maybe the worst you'll ever see in tennis.

At the Western and Southern Open Tuesday in Cincinnati, Sara Eranni's serve against Yanini Wickmayer clearly landed with the boundaries of the court, and Wickmayer's forehand return sailed well long and wide. Ho-hum. Except -- what's that? -- the serve was out, according to the chair umpire.

Obviously Errani chooses to challenge, and it's shown that the ball is in by an embarrassing margin, at which point she rightfully loses her mind.

The two go back and forth, though the chair umpire really has no leg to stand on. His final assessment: "I didn't see it." Um, that's kind of why she's mad, see. Because you overruled the call, as if you had seen it.

Errani went on to win. All's well that ends well, I guess.

(h/t For the Win)

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Latest Video

May 3, 2015
Mayweather vs. Pacquiao highlights (0:49)
May 2, 2015
New England Patriots taking in the Kentucky Derby
(1:37)
May 2, 2015
Hawks on Game 6 win over Nets
(0:51)
May 2, 2015
A-Rod hits his 660th career home run
(2:35)

Latest

Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's New Era Red Tampa Bay Buccaneers 2015 NFL Draft On-Stage 59FIFTY Fitted Hat

2015 NFL Draft Day Hats
Get your team today
Shop Now