Wambach, Morgan FIFA world player candidates


ZURICH (AP) - Olympic gold-medal winners Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe of the United States were among 10 candidates selected for the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year.

Wambach scored five goals at the London Games, and Lloyd scored twice as the U.S. beat Japan 2-1 in the final before a crowd of 80,203 at Wembley Stadium. Morgan and Rapinoe each scored three times in London.

No American has won since Mia Hamm in 2001 and `02, the first years FIFA presented the women's award.

Christine Sinclair of Canada, who scored six goals at the London Olympics, and five-time winner Marta of Brazil also were nominated by FIFA on Thursday. Japan had three candidates including Homare Sawa, winner of the 2011 FIFA award.

Pia Sundhage, who guided the U.S. Olympic team, and Norio Sasaki of Japan were among 10 candidates for the coach's award.

Three finalists will be announced Nov. 29 in Sao Paulo after voting by national team coaches, captains and journalists.

Winners will be revealed at FIFA's annual gala on Jan. 7 in Zurich.

Copyright 2016 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.

Biggest Stories



Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Majestic Navy Cleveland Indians 2016 American League Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

Cleveland 2016 ALCS Champs Gear
Get yours today!
Shop Now